Select Page

Happiness Turns To Heartbreak

Happiness Turns To Heartbreak

We recently found out that we were expecting our third baby. We were all thrilled! It was fun to see so much joy in the boys’ faces as we shared the news with them. They were full of questions and so excited as we talked about the pregnancy and how they would get to be involved along the way and after baby was born. However, a few days later we started miscarrying.

Even though it was too early to tell the baby’s gender, we picked a name that we feel encompasses our baby’s significance and the life we will always remember: River Bliss Dillard.

One meaning for River is “tranquil”…and here in Arkansas, rivers are often a serene, beautiful escape in nature. We also like how the River talked about in the Bible (Rev. 22:1-5) represents God’s life-giving presence. The river of life (Holy Spirit), “flows from the throne of God,” and with the tree of life is “for the healing of the nations.” Our baby doesn’t get to live here with us on earth, but is forever with the source of the river of life, in the presence of the Lord! And we chose Bliss for a middle name because our baby is living in perfect bliss with the Lord and was such a gift that brought immense joy and happiness to us even though only with us here on earth for a short time.

Below is a short video montage in honor of River that captures us finding out we were expecting with some other special moments.

See original video with song, “I Will Carry You” by Selah on Jill’s Instagram: @jillmdillard

“Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, bright as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb through the middle of the street of the city; also, on either side of the river, the tree of life with its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month. The leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. No longer will there be anything accursed, but the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and his servants will worship him. They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads. And night will be no more. They will need no light of lamp or sun, for the Lord God will be their light, and they will reign forever and ever.” -Revelation 22:1-5

The photos above are considered the property of the Dillard Family and may only be used with their written permission. Please request permission to use the photos.

33 Comments

  1. Beth Zimmerman

    I am so so sorry for your Loss. There are no words to express that kind of pain. My Heart, Thoughts and Prayers go out to your Family during this Difficult time. I love the name you gave your Baby.

    Reply
    • Pam

      I am very sorry for the loss of your baby River Bliss. Prayers for your family.

      Reply
  2. Plm

    So sorry for your loss!! Prayers for y’all!

    Reply
  3. Emily

    I am so sorry for your loss. Baby River and your family will be in my prayers. Thank you for having the courage to share this, and I hope you find some solace in having done so.

    Reply
  4. Lori McGrath

    I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your precious little one. You all will be in our prayers.

    Reply
  5. Amy D Dirkse

    So sorry for your loss!!!! Praying for your family!

    Reply
  6. Susan S.

    So so so sorry for your loss. Never easy. Now you have another advocate up in Heaven. May River Bliss find the next soul ready to join your family and send it down soon.

    Reply
  7. katie

    So sorry to hear of your miscarriage I pray that the Lord will bless you with another baby if it be his will in his good time praying for you all for healing.Love and hugs

    God bless
    Katie Blake

    Reply
  8. Kathy

    So sorry for your loss! Such a beautiful name for the baby! Hugs!

    Reply
  9. Bec Stek

    So so sorry for your loss. Much love to you all

    Reply
  10. Zanne

    Been there. I am so sorry. We have 3 children here on earth, another 6 in heaven. with the last one, God comforted me with Jeremiah 29:11–for that little boy, not for me. He reminded me that we are all in His hands from our very beginning, and His love for that baby is greater than ours could ever be. He now has all our little ones safe in His hands.

    Reply
  11. Darcey Rook

    I am so sorry for your loss. Praying for your peace

    Reply
  12. Dani Kirkwood

    I’m so sorry to hear this, Dillard Family. My husband and I had an early miscarriage in June, and we had an ectopic pregnancy and subsequent miscarriage last month. While God truly does comfort us in our heartache, it still takes awhile for the broken hearted to be mended once they are “bound up.” May you experience peace and his presence as you walk through this process.

    Reply
  13. susan rogers

    There is no greater loss than the loss of a child. Please know there is so many who are feeling and praying for you and your family and if you listen carefully you can here them as you go thru this.
    with all the love I can spare from one parent to another.
    Susan Rogers
    Jordan NY

    Reply
  14. Carrie

    So very sorry….prayers for comfort coming your way.

    Reply
  15. Jennifer Savoy

    So very sorry for your loss. Praying for you and your family and knowing that God will comfort you in this time.

    Reply
  16. Vicki

    I am so sorry for your loss! My thoughts and prayers are with you!❤️

    Reply
  17. ES

    I’m sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing this with everyone. It must be a hard time for you all. Xx

    Reply
  18. Beckie Lockwood

    I am so sorry for your loss. God bless you and your family. You are in my prayers.

    Reply
  19. Joy Newman

    So so sorry for your family’s loss!! You all will be in my thoughts & prayers! ♡

    Reply
  20. Regina

    Oh Jill I’m so very sorry. Please know you and your family are in my prayers. May you feel God’s loving arms around you. I also named my two babies I lost in 2001 and 2002. Micah Dolan and Brianna Rose.

    Reply
  21. Jodi

    I’m so sorry for your loss of this baby.. and the lord be with yall so much .

    Reply
  22. Jenny Smart

    Dear Jill and Derick,
    I am so very sorry for your loss. Though you know that River Bliss is with God , losing your baby on earth still causes such sadness, an empty space in your family and a yearning for what might have been. I wish you all healing and peace in your hearts in the certainty that this is part of God’s plan and that he holds you all close during this difficult season of life.
    With prayers and warm thoughts,
    Jenny

    Reply
  23. REBECCA

    I am so incredibly sorry for this profound loss. God had bigger plans for this sweet angel. Prayers of comfort, love, and peace for all of you during this difficult time. The name is very fitting.

    Reply
  24. Tonya Porter

    Derrick, Jill, Israel and Samuel, my thoughts and prayers are going up for y’all. May God comfort and keep you all during this very difficult time. God bless you all.

    Reply
  25. Laura

    I am so very very sorry for your loss. We have two babies in Heaven waiting on us. The name you chose is beautiful. I know the heartache is so great and the empty place in your heart will always be longing for Little River. I pray the Hope of life in eternity with your precious baby will bring you comfort. No life no matter how little or young was/ is never a wasted life to God. Prayers and love.

    Reply
  26. Annita Phillips

    I’m so sorry for the loss of baby river. Sending Prayers on the Wings of the Angels for comfort in Jesus Holy Name Amen

    Reply
  27. Arlene mckittrick

    I’m so very sorry for your loss

    Reply
  28. Regina

    Jill, you were on my mind today as this is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Day and I wanted to let you know I’m praying for you and well as fellow mamas here who’ve lost babies.

    Reply
  29. Kim

    Loss of a baby is never easy no matter how early in the pregnancy it occurs. I planted a rose bush in remembrance of each of my miscarriages to remind me that my babies are in full bloom in the presence of Jesus. Prayers for your peace, comfort and hope.

    Reply
  30. NICOLE M O'MALLEY

    This is just heartbreaking news. Jill and derek i pray that God surrounds your hearts and lays a blanket of protection at your feet. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Reply
  31. Maurina

    So sorry for your loss of River Bliss, and I believe only the Lord knows why that happens. It happened with my first pregnancy. I was almost 6 months along… So prayers for your family. I sure miss seeing you girls on TV so we know what’s going on with y’all. From fort Smith myself I always tried to keep up.

    Reply
  32. Jane

    Not that this scientific fact makes it any easier emotionally, but most embryos die. It’s nature’s way of ending a life not suited for optimal survival. It’s nothing you did. It’s nothing you deserved. It still sucks. And it will happen again and again. Often you’ll never even know.
    Be well.

    Reply

Leave a reply

Email Updates

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This