Valerie Bertinelli loves nothing more than supporting her only son, Wolfgang Van Halen. The young man served as the bassist of his late father Eddie Van Halen’s band, Van Halen, and certainly inherited his musical genes.

When Was Valerie Bertinelli’s Only Kid Wolfgang Van Halen Born?

On March 16, 1991, Valerie welcomed Wolfgang with rock ‘n’ roll legend Eddie. The two were together for over 26 years and raised their beloved child together before calling it quits in 2007. But even after they went their separate ways, Valerie still kept all of her attention on her son.

“After Ed and I separated, I thought, I’ll finish raising my son,” she told Closer. “I’ll go away, have about 40 cats, and just get nice and fat.” However, that soon changed after the chef met her second husband, Tom Vitale. They later got married in 2011. A decade later, they split.

Sadly, Eddie died at age 65 in October 2020 after a long battle with throat cancer. “He was the best father I could ever ask for,” Wolfgang wrote on Twitter at the time. “Every moment I’ve shared with him, on and off stage, was a gift. I love you so much, Pop.”

Nowadays, Valerie is relishing her life as a doting mom. While virtually appearing on Today in August 2020, the Hot in Cleveland actress gushed over reuniting with Wolfie after not seeing him for months amid the coronavirus pandemic.

“We didn’t see each other, except for FaceTime for at least three months I want to say, and when I finally got to hug him it was — it lasted a very, very long time,” she marveled, adding, “I adore him. He comes over for dinner and we watch movies.”

Valerie Bertinelli Kids: Son Wolfgang Van Halen With Ex Eddie
Courtesy of Wolfgang Van Halen/Instagram

Because Valerie is such a doting mom, she’s often sharing cute pics with Wolfie on social media and celebrating his music accomplishments. In March 2021, the Touched by an Angel alum posted a touching photo collage of her son through the years in honor of his 30th birthday.

“I’m so ridiculously proud of the man you are. You’ve been through so much (more than anyone will ever know) and you are still kind, thoughtful, thankful and gracious – with a wicked, sarcastic sense of humor,” she penned. “I know your father agrees that the happiest day of our lives was the day you were born. I love you to the moon and back, sweet boy.”

Currently, Wolfie performs in the rock band Mammoth WVH.

Wolfgang Van Halen Is Married to Andraia Allsop

In July 2022, Wolfgang announced his engagement to his longtime love, Andraia Allsop, on Instagram. The couple wed in October 2023 in front of their closest friends and family members.

“It brings me such a nice sense of peace knowing Wolfie and Andraia have each other for the rest of their lives,” Valerie gushed to People after her son’s nuptials.

In March 2024, Valerie and Andraia watched Wolfie take the stage at the Oscars to play guitar for Ryan Gosling‘s performance of “I’m Just Ken.”

“Honored to have played a small part in something so incredible,” he reflected on Instagram after the performance. Just two months later, Valerie revealed that she was hoping to become a grandmother in the future but did not want to overstep when it came to her son’s marriage.

“I want to be a grandma. I want to be a grammy, you know, all of those [things],” she said during an appearance on The Jennifer Hudson Show in May 2024 . “But I also need to respect them and let them enjoy their life.”