They might be one of Hollywood’s strongest and most envied couples nowadays, but that wasn’t always the case for lovebirds Mark Consuelos and Kelly Ripa. During his appearance on Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen on Wednesday, February 20, the Riverdale star revealed how he got Kelly back after they briefly broke up before later eloping back in 1996.

“We both had to meet and do an appearance on Live With Regis and Kathie Lee,” Mark, 47, said of the time during their week-long split. “And when we were together [at the show], Kelly wouldn’t talk to me and that made me go crazy. So I followed her in Central Park — I stalked her — and then we went back to my place, and then we got married the next day.”

Shocked by his story, host Andy Cohen jokingly chimed in with, “What happened between you going to your place to you getting married, I think we know!”

Let’s be honest, Kelly, 48, and her handsome hubby breaking up sounds a bit crazy to us. The couple, who will be celebrating 23 years of marriage this May, is one of the few reasons we still believe in love. In late January, Mark sweetly admitted in an interview with Us Weekly that he is still totally head over heels for the Live! With Kelly and Ryan host today.

kelly-ripa-mark-consuelos-5
Getty Images

“I’m crazy about her,” the father-of-three revealed. He even dished what he thinks is the key to their successful relationship. “She’s an extremely patient and tolerant woman,” Mark said of his stunning wife. “And I think that’s the true secret to our marriage.”

As for Kelly, the feeling is definitely mutual. Even though marriage isn’t always easy, the blonde beauty knows there still isn’t anyone else that she would rather be with. “I think, in the early stages, it’s easy to let stuff burn out of control. You want to be right or you want to hear an apology. The stuff we used to argue over in our first year of marriage was like, ‘Are you going to breathe next to me?’ Those were inane fights!” she told Us Weekly this past November. Despite the meaningless arguments, Kelly knows that the only thing that she cares about at the end of the day is her husband and kids. “I can’t picture my life without him,” she said. Aww!