Skip to content
Author
UPDATED:

I provoke arguments for a living. I call a spade a spade. I reveal confirmation bias in my columns. I challenge people to reconsider what they believe to be truth.

These are not my self-descriptions of this column space. These are a sampling of yours. Readers seem to see what they want to see here. I’d have it no other way.

“Jerry, you not only instigate arguments for a living, you appear to embrace them as a matter of social discourse,” Carl T. of Aurora, Illinois.

You nailed it, Carl. The art form of argument has been kidnapped by politics and hatred. The ransom is too much for most of us to pay.

FILE - In this Oct. 12, 2021 file photo, a protester waves a Trump flag during rally at the Michigan State Capitol in Lansing, Mich.  Republicans have had wild success this year passing voting restrictions in states they control politically, from Georgia to Iowa to Texas.  (Jake May/The Flint Journal via AP, File)
FILE – In this Oct. 12, 2021 file photo, a protester waves a Trump flag during rally at the Michigan State Capitol in Lansing, Mich. Republicans have had wild success this year passing voting restrictions in states they control politically, from Georgia to Iowa to Texas. (Jake May/The Flint Journal via AP, File)

Instead of debating our differences with civility and an open mind, we call each other names and slap a handy label on anyone who’s not in our political tribe. This is why when I receive reader feedback that transcends such trendy simple-mindedness, I celebrate it. Even if I don’t agree with it.

“Jerry: In today’s article (‘Chicago cops are welcomed to relocate’), you state ‘If they choose to do it (relocate to Indiana) now rather than get a shot … so be it. I’m all about freedom of choice,'” writes Kevin Reisinger, who consistently challenges my stances with tact and class.

“Yet you don’t seem to be all about freedom of choice in regards to vaccination. I understand your ending sentiment, but it would appear you are all for freedom of choice as long as you (or our government) agree it is the correct choice,” he wrote via email.

“If what is best for the common good is the underlying condition for your belief of vaccination, please consider another popular focal point concerning freedom of choice: 730,000 (CDC) Americans died of COVID last year, while 620,000 successful abortion procedures occurred in America (CDC for 2018). I think all would agree the later stat is not for the common good of the American fetus.”

“If what is best for the common good is the underlying condition for your belief of vaccination, please consider another popular focal point concerning freedom of choice: 730,000 (CDC) Americans died of COVID last year, while 620,000 successful abortion procedures occurred in America (CDC for 2018). I think all would agree the later stat is not for the common good of the American fetus,” writes a reader.
(AP Photo/Dylan Lovan, File)

Now this is a counter argument. It’s also a salient talking point to propel a dialogue toward a deeper understanding of an issue.

“Mr. Davich, I would suggest thinking about your belief in ‘they are all like that’ because it seems to demonstrate a confirmation bias,” writes Curtis W. referring to my column on former NFL head coach Jon Gruden. “Your last sentence is quite a broad and unsubstantiated claim.”

When I countered Curtis’ assessment by confirming my initial point, he replied, “Writing the words that you have increases divisiveness and serves no purpose toward describing the idiot that is Jon Gruden. He was an idiot before the recently in the news emails were revealed. But to paint a larger group with the same brush, as you have, because they look alike or have similar beliefs makes you more LIKE THAT than you may want to believe.”

“Jerry, maybe you should ask Senator Braun what he is doing about stopping the flow of illegal guns coming from Indiana that are killing people in Chicago,” writes Geri B. of Tinley Park, Illinois. “He is more worried about having unvaccinated cops coming to work in Indiana but really doesn’t seem to want to stop the straw purchases from Indiana.”

Sen. Mike Braun, R-Ind., speaks during a Senate Appropriations Subcommittee hearing, Wednesday, June 9, 2021, on Capitol Hill in Washington.  (Al Drago/Pool via AP)
Sen. Mike Braun, R-Ind., speaks during a Senate Appropriations Subcommittee hearing, Wednesday, June 9, 2021, on Capitol Hill in Washington. (Al Drago/Pool via AP)

Geri is referring to my column on U.S. Sen. Mike Braun, R-Ind., and his “Welcome to Indiana” invitation to Chicago police officers refusing to comply with their city’s vaccine mandate. It surprisingly sparked more responses from Illinois readers than from Indiana readers.

“As an ex-Hoosier, I’m beyond ashamed of the conduct of Senator Braun and his political allies,” writes Deborah W. “Thank you for pushing back against the tsunami of disinformation. Even when we fear that telling the truth won’t make a difference … telling the truth in blunt, plain language, as you have done, is always the right thing to do.”

Truth and facts are no longer the same thing.

“I encourage you to write unceasingly about Senator Braun’s extreme right-wing, anti-science, anti-democracy, pro-authoritarian speech and behavior,” Becky C. writes. “I know he voted not to accept the certification of the 2020 election. And I have not heard anything about him finally agreeing that Joe Biden is our president. Sen. Braun is such an embarrassment to our state. He is the quintessential weak-minded political hack.”

“Braun is a disgrace to Indiana and his constituents,” added Dave T., of Highland.

Several readers questioned whether Chicago cops would seriously consider relocating to Indiana police departments, citing financial factors such as earned income disparities between a major metro city and smaller towns.

“Maybe a couple of true believers would take them up on that offer but I don’t think there would be too many,” one reader wrote.

Not all reader responses are triggered by contentious issues of the day.

Counter protesters shout at members of the Ku Klux Klan during a rally calling for the protection of Southern Confederate monuments, in Charlottesville, Virginia. (Andrew Caballero)
Counter protesters shout at members of the Ku Klux Klan during a rally calling for the protection of Southern Confederate monuments, in Charlottesville, Virginia. (Andrew Caballero)

“Jerry, I really enjoyed your kindness column,” writes Chris T., of West Dundee, Illinois, who shared with me his personal experience to be a kinder person.

“Remember several years ago when several police officers in Dallas were ambushed and murdered? I was watching news coverage and an interview with a young man. He was upset and said that from now on he was going to be kind to everyone he encountered during his day. He was going to greet everyone he met and ask how they were. I started doing the same. It works and I am a better person.”

My favorite reader responses begin like this email: “Jerry, I don’t always agree with you, but …”

“Absolutely, the ‘religious exemption‘ (to the COVID-19 vaccination) is smoke and mirrors in a lot of cases. You were on fire today! Good job!”

After I replied to that reader’s email, I received this response.

“I appreciate the fact that you reply to my emails even though they may disagree with you sometimes. It’s a nice feeling that my responses don’t go into ‘delete’ automatically!”

Never. In fact, I save most reader feedback in an email folder for future reference. Keep ’em coming. Contrary to some readers’ opinions, I provoke dialogues for a living.

jdavich@post-trib.com

Originally Published: