Skip to content

College Sports |
Danny Hughes plays special teams for Michigan. Jayden Reed returns punts for Michigan State. Could the former Naperville Central teammates meet on the field?

Author
UPDATED:

It’s a proposition sure to cross Danny Hughes’ mind this week.

At the very least, it’s something Hughes will be well aware of, especially from experience.

During the 2017 season, Hughes and his Naperville Central teammates saw Jayden Reed’s explosiveness on a daily basis.

Four years later, Hughes is at Michigan, while Reed and two other high school teammates — Payton Thorne and Cade McDonald — play for Michigan State.

So, it begs the question. How does Hughes, who plays on special teams for the Wolverines, deal with the idea of having to stop Reed?

“I was on special teams in high school, but I didn’t get a chance to tackle Jayden at all in a scrimmage or anything,” Hughes said. “If I’m on kickoff or any of that, it’d be pretty cool to run down there and tackle him.

“I’m not sure if I’ll have that chance yet or not, but it’d be pretty cool to try.”

Danny Hughes (24), a Naperville Central graduate, plays primarily on special teams for Michigan.
Danny Hughes (24), a Naperville Central graduate, plays primarily on special teams for Michigan.

The last time all four were on the same field together was on Nov. 11, 2017, when Naperville Central lost 39-28 to Maine South in a Class 8A state quarterfinal.

Thorne and Reed connected for a touchdown in the second quarter before Reed was sidelined with an ankle injury. Hughes delivered a 93-yard kickoff return for a TD in the second quarter.

As a senior in 2018, Hughes ran for 1,174 yards and 11 TDs to lead the Redhawks.

With Michigan traveling Saturday to East Lansing, Michigan to meet Michigan State in a battle of two 7-0 teams, Hughes is right where he wants to be.

The goal was to play football in college somewhere after high school, and thanks to a contact of his older brother, Hughes has been contributing as a preferred walk-on.

“I was planning on playing,” he said. “Obviously, this was a huge school and I hadn’t had any huge offers. When this was out there, I just jumped at it.

“I’m happy I did. I’m happy with my choice, being here and having a chance to be on special teams. I’d rather be here and to be on special teams than at like a smaller place and be a running back. I’m happy with what I chose.”

For the most part, Blake Corum and Hassan Haskins have been the biggest reasons for Michigan’s success this season running the football.

Corum and Haskins each have 10 TDs for the Wolverines, who have averaged 253.3 yards rushing.

After battling an ankle sprain that forced him to miss the season opener against Western Michigan, Hughes has seen time in the last six games.

Naperville Central's Danny Hughes (22) runs the ball against Hinsdale Central's Nick Franko (19) and Griffin Doney (29) during a game in Naperville on Friday, Aug. 24, 2018.
Naperville Central’s Danny Hughes (22) runs the ball against Hinsdale Central’s Nick Franko (19) and Griffin Doney (29) during a game in Naperville on Friday, Aug. 24, 2018.

“I knew I probably wasn’t going to impact the team with running the ball,” he said. “I just wanted to help out the team however I could. As a walk-on, it’s hard to get out there.

“But I try on special teams a lot, and it’s just been awesome to run out there at ‘The Big House’ and impact the game. I knew the only way I’d probably get in during meaningful time was to be on special teams, so I worked hard at it.”

Hughes also has kept tabs on what Thorne and Reed have been doing for Michigan State.

When they’re together, the intense rivalry takes over if the topic turns to football.

And that’s what makes it fun.

“It reminds me of high school, just watching them have long plays and making these awesome plays with each other,” Hughes said. “It’s hard because of where they are, Michigan State, to root them on or to cheer them on.

“I hope they do great, but I just hope they don’t win that many games.”

Blake Baumgartner is a freelance reporter for the Naperville Sun.

Originally Published: