Skip to content

Post-Tribune |
Jaden Marsh, whose mom was diagnosed with cancer while he sat out last season, recovers from COVID-19 and mono to become a force for Andrean: ‘I’m just glad to be back.’

Author
UPDATED:

Jaden Marsh eliminated any lingering doubts on Friday.

Marsh, who recovered from COVID-19 and mononucleosis in the past six months, recorded six sacks in Andrean’s Northwest Crossroads Conference win against Highland. He had nine tackles, including six for loss.

The 6-foot-5, 215-pound senior defensive end drew inspiration from the memory of his next-door neighbor Mia Roy. The 2020 Crown Point graduate died earlier in the week at her apartment near Indiana University, where she was a student.

“I just wanted to honor her name and prove something out there,” Marsh said. “We spent our whole childhood together, and it’s just really sad.

“She used to have this quote: ‘Six letters you won’t forget.’ I just thought it was cool because I got six sacks and six TFLs. So it just all added up.”

Marsh left Crown Point after his sophomore year and transferred to Andrean, where he didn’t gain eligibility to play until the 2020 postseason. He started all four games as Andrean won a Class 2A sectional title.

“I just got those four games and tried to make them count,” Marsh said. “Getting blocked and not being able to play my entire junior season until the playoffs, it really hurt deep down. I had obstacles, but I’ve had to overcome them and just stay positive. If I let it be negative, I would’ve made myself worse. I just told myself I had to keep working. I just love football. It’s such a great sport.

“I just wanted a better opportunity, and so far it’s been a great experience. I love the atmosphere. We’re obviously a smaller school, but I felt so welcomed here by everybody the second I walked in. It’s turned out pretty well here, and I’m grateful for that.”

Marsh has shown enough potential in limited playing time to draw interest from Mid-American Conference programs. He has 27 tackles, including 12 for loss, and nine sacks in five games for the 59ers (3-2).

He also showed maturity on the sideline last season, according to Andrean coach Chris Skinner.

“He was very disappointed when he got that word,” Skinner said. “But give him credit. He came to work every day like he was a varsity player. He had a positive mindset despite the situation.

“He just felt like he was getting lost at Crown Point, like it was too big of an environment, and his academics were struggling because of that. He wanted to be in a smaller setting, more of a family setting here at Andrean.”

In the inaugural game between the programs, Andrean defeated Crown Point 21-7 on Aug. 27. Marsh had nine tackles, including five for loss, with two sacks.

“I remember last year when I found out we were facing my old school, Crown Point, I was counting down the days,” Marsh said. “I was excited for that. When the day eventually came, hopefully I proved my point out there.

“I was ecstatic. It was the top of the mountain. My heart could not stop racing. I just love being on the field. The first meeting ever, it was really cool. I was just glad to be a part of that history.”

Before he could play in that game, however, he had to get healthy.

Marsh tested positive for COVID-19 in April. After losing 15 pounds, he mostly recovered within three weeks.

“It was awful,” Marsh said. “I felt lifeless, basically. I still don’t have my smell or taste back.”

Marsh then came down with mononucleosis in June and lost 40 pounds.

“It really affected me,” he said. “It was really a downfall. I had to take it slow. I had to work myself back up because I wanted it so bad.”

Marsh wasn’t quite himself at the beginning of the season, showing signs of fatigue, according to Skinner. But Marsh has hit his stride in recent weeks.

“He’s had a series of hiccups that got in the way of what he’s truly able to do,” Skinner said. “But he’s gotten healthy, and he’s gotten better and better.

“He’s a really good kid. He works really hard, and he has strong character. His ability to stay positive throughout all of this has really been impressive.”

Marsh, who plans to study psychology in college, has maintained perspective.

“I’m just glad to be back,” he said. “It could be worse. I could still be out. So I’m just glad to be playing with these amazing teammates. I want to thank them, my coaches, my Andrean family, my family, my friends, God. They’ve all really been positive and understanding on this journey.”

He specifically mentioned his mother, Erin, who was diagnosed with thyroid cancer about a year ago, while he was sidelined.

“I just want to thank my mom,” Marsh said. “She just helps me with everything. She wants the best for me. She’s in constant pain. She has her good days and her bad days, but I know she’s a strong fighter and she’ll beat it.”

Originally Published: