Skip to content

Breaking News

Eran Klei
Daniel I. Dorfman / Pioneer Press
Eran Klei
Author
UPDATED:

Eran Klein moved to Glencoe less than a year ago with his wife and two children, and works in investment management. He grew up in New York, lived in Los Angeles and then came to Chicago. He lived in the city before moving to Glencoe.

Q: What do you enjoy about Glencoe?

A: The community itself, the people and the schools are wonderful.

Q: How did you get involved in the world of investment management?

A: I’ve always been interested in investments and when I finished undergrad, I went to work at an asset management firm in Los Angeles. And then I went to business school, and eventually I moved out here. Today I work for a company based in New York.

Q: You’ve lived in the three biggest cities in the country. What did you like and dislike about each one of them?

A: New York has almost everything to offer that you can imagine and I really enjoyed living there, but today I go back and I say it is too big and too crowded. I think Chicago has just as much to offer from a cultural standpoint, but tends to be a little more slower paced and a little more of a livable city. Los Angeles has great weather, but you spend too much time in a car. You spend 30 minutes to an hour going anywhere and it is not as much of a community feel as you get in a place like Chicago, such as in Wrigleyville or now here in Glencoe.

Q: Have you switched sports team allegiances since you have moved?

A: I’m still a New York Giants fan and I am still a Yankees fan, but I have learned to love the Cubs since I have moved here.

Q: The stock market has been going up. Do you get the feeling investors are very confident right now in the economy or are they nervous?

A: I think there is a little bit of both. I’m surprised by how confident investors are given all the uncertainty with the new administration. That said, a lot of the administration policies potentially are going to be positive from a growth standpoint, so I can see (why) people feel that way. I’m cautiously optimistic about things.

Shout Out is a weekly feature in which we get to know and introduce our readers to their fellow community members and local visitors throughout suburban Chicago.

Daniel I. Dorfman is a freelancer for Pioneer Press.

Originally Published: