Skip to content
Author
UPDATED:

Bert Tucker, 79, of Lake Forest joined the Cub Scouts in 1947 and remains involved with the Boy Scouts today. The Northeast Illinois Council of Boy Scouts honored him with the National Outstanding Eagle Scout Award on April 25.

Q. What appealed to you about the Scouts as a boy?

A. Back in 1947, the Boy Scouts was one of the primary events for kids to take part in. We didn’t have soccer leagues and baseball leagues like we do today.

Q. You earned Eagle rank?

A. In 1953 as a sophomore in high school. I continued in Scouting until I got married after college. Then I was out of Scouting for eight or nine years until the boys were old enough to join Cub Scouts, and my wife and I both went back into the program with them.

Q. I’m told you come from a family of Eagle Scouts?

A. My dad and my three older brothers are Eagle Scouts, and now my three sons and a grandson are also Eagles.

Q. When you were in the Boy Scouts as a kid, did you intend to be active in the Boy Scouts for another 50 plus years?

A. My wife says it became my hobby. I just felt the Scouting program was so important, I wanted to stay in the program to help other boys realize the same set of values.

Q. How has Boy Scouts changed over the years you’ve been involved?

A. I think one of the changes has been there are a lot more competing activities. The retention of boys in the program has become more challenging because of the competing activities. Mothers no longer stay at home and both parents are working. It takes more effort to get parents to volunteer.

Q. What positions have you held?

A. I was with Lake Forest Troop 46 and eventually became the Scoutmaster from 1985 to 1990. Then I continued on in the district and council in a number of areas: Vice President of Northeastern Illinois Council, Council Commissioner, Council Advisory Board and Chairman of the Council History Committee.

mlawton@pioneerlocal.com

@reporterdude

Originally Published: