FULL INTERVIEW: Midland native Bryce Hoppel full interview before Olympic Trials

Published: Jun. 26, 2024 at 8:13 PM CDT

ODESSA, Texas (KOSA) - Midland native Bryce Hoppel is preparing for the Olympic trials in Oregon.

CBS7 Sports Director Jair Brooks-Davis spoke with Hoppel a week prior to the opening round of trials.

“Training is going incredible and I think having a second shot, I think we can hopefully make it better. I think this time, we’re geared up for hopefully getting a medal. I feel ready to go, I’m excited, it can’t come soon enough,” said Hoppel.

Hoppel is hopeful he can make the United States Olympic team and believes he can win awards in the 2024 Summer Olympics. In his interview, he further explained his appreciation for his hometown of Midland saying, “I think having that responsibility weighs on the shoulders a little bit but I think it’s incredible just to get represent something so much bigger than yourself. I couldn’t be more thankful than to have such an incredible hometown to support me.

Hoppel will begin the first round of 800 Meter Olympic trials on Thursday night.