UTPB Art Student Madison Guerrero is getting a once in a lifetime opportunity

Published: May. 30, 2024 at 5:38 PM CDT

ODESSA, Texas (KOSA) -UTPB Art student Madison Guerrero is getting a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

She will be traveling to Paris next month for art residency.

Madison’s artwork has been displayed in the city of Odessa and at UTPB and even won awards.

Now, she thinks it’s time to take her artwork international and expand her skills to the next level.

Art has been a big part of Madison’s life since she was a small child.

She tried other career paths but ultimately realized that art is what she wants to do.

“I didn’t know that I was going to want to do it later in life because I started out doing physical therapy and then I was just like no this is not what I want to do. I think art has a big impact on my life because it is my life.” said UTPB Undergraduate Art student Madison Guerrero.

One of her professors at UTPB spends time in Paris, France every summer and personally invited Madison to go with her this year to learn from all kinds of artists.

Madison and her professor will be conducting undergraduate research about making materials from natural things from scratch to put on paintings.

Madison believes that being in Paris will get her ready to take the next step for her artwork.

“When I am over there, I just think that my work is going to flourish a lot more than it has here. I think I already exceeded a lot of my expectations but when I go over there, I will be so focused on myself and my work. I won’t have to worry about school, work, or anything else other than what I am doing at that moment.” said Madison Guerrero.

Guerrero has been working at Stone Tower Grafix for three years.

To help cover her travel expenses, they’re now selling t-shirts with her designs on them.

“We go to her exhibits and see her artwork. It is great she’s been able to spread her wings and do all these great things. her having the ability to go somewhere like that. We are super happy for her.” said Owner of Stone Tower Grafix Santiago Salomon.

Not many young local artists have the opportunity to travel to Europe... She is thankful to receive this opportunity.

“I never heard of anybody that has gone. I know other people that have been much older than me that go all the time. For my professor, this is just another summer thing she does all the time, and she is blessed to do that for me. I am just another college student who works, pays bills, and does stuff like that. To go over there and get that opportunity is unheard of.” said Madison Guerrero.

When Madison returns to Odessa she’ll begin focusing on her senior show and plans to use everything she learns in Paris in her project.