Four Palo Duro cheer stars sign to cheer at collegiate level

Four PD cheerleaders sign to cheer in college
Four PD cheerleaders sign to cheer in college(KFDA)
Published: May. 8, 2024 at 4:40 PM CDT

AMARILLO, Texas (KFDA) - Four Palo Duro High School cheerleaders signed their National Letters of Intent on Wednesday to cheer at the collegiate level.

Citlaly Gonzalez will be going to Texas A&M University in San Antonio to cheer for the program in it’s second year of existence.

“I didn’t really think about going into any sports whenever I first started high school, but I realized my senior year that this is what I wanted to keep doing in college. If there was any sport, it would be cheer that I wanted to do,” Gonzalez said.

Carmine Cantu will be staying closer to home. Cantu will be cheering at Lubbock Christian University starting this fall.

“When I started, I really just thought of it as like a hobby and something that I was just going to do in school. Looking into it more and more and seeing the competitions and going to nationals and like having a feel of that competition, I was like yeah I want to go to the next level,” Cantu said.

Wayland Baptist University cheer program will be getting two Palo Duro athletes on it’s team. Criscina Acosta and Aiyana Woods will both be joining the squad at Wayland.

“I always wanted to go to the next level, but I didn’t think it was going to be possible until I found Wayland cheer. As soon as I saw their sport and their program, I completely fell in love with it and I knew this was a program that I wanted to be in,” Acosta said.

“I didn’t think I would ever do cheer, but I had a passion for it at a young age, and I am excited to continue it in college,” Woods said.