The Power of Communication- Pt.2, One of three colleges in the United States is designed for the deaf is in West Texas

Recordings of the CBS7 News at 6 broadcast.
Updated: Feb. 15, 2024 at 6:00 PM CST

BIG SPRING, Texas (KOSA) - Across the United States, there are around 20,000 students who are deaf making it the second most common disability in schools.

Yet only three colleges in America are designed for deaf or hard-of-hearing students.

One of those colleges is in Big Spring.

Opening in 1979, The Southwest College for the Deaf was created to make sure deaf or hard-of-hearing students had access to post-secondary education.

SWDC is designed so that students can talk and learn in their first language.

“Because I struggled so much there, coming here having the teachers that I have, and being able to communicate in my language I’ve already seen myself be successful and I already know it’s going to benefit me in my education” Jonathan Masudi, International Student at SWDC

A native of Makongo, Jonathan came to the United States knowing nothing about the culture or language.

“Only two countries use the language which is The United States and Canada. Other countries have deaf communities and they have developed their own language within their own culture in their country. If you go to Japan and want to communicate with someone there you’re gonna have to learn their language. We would struggle with learning their language just as if you would” said Masudi

Across the world, there are more than 300 forms of sign language. SWDC enrolls 45 students. In programs like dental, welding, visual communication, and interpreter training.

Programs that can be taught at other universities but at SWDC it is taught by those who can speak ASL.

“If he needs me he taps me on the shoulder and we communicate in American Sign Language because he’s deaf and I’m deaf. But if it was a hearing teacher we might have to write back and forth or use our phones to communicate or even gesture to try to get that information but it’s really important to have communication wherever you are” said Bonnie Garza, Student at SWDC

Because of the American Disabilities Act of 1990, colleges and universities across the country are required to have an interpreter available for students who need one.

But sometimes the interpreter may not be as fluent as the student.

“Well, the first thing that we have is direct communication. All of our faculty here on staff, most of them are deaf. I think we do have two only that are hearing but both are fluent in the language so they don’t need an interpreter in their class so you have direct communication from faculty to students. They’re able to teach in their language and understand in their language” said Anderson

An estimated 6.1 percent of the world’s population has hearing loss or is deaf which unites them even if they’re from another country.

“Since my family is so far away in Africa it’s really important to have a deaf friend that I can talk to and they’ve become my family here. We are family. If I have an issue I can talk with them. I can get advice. They’ve become my family here on campus. And it’s helped me become who I am” said Masudi

With faculty and students communicating in their first language it opens the door for not just a better classroom experience but also a social life for students.

“It’s great, we have direct communication. I’m able to talk in my language all the time. So it’s beneficial for me and we have tons of different activities, things going on all the time so being involved with that and going places and just being involved. But now I’m involved even more so because everyone’s deaf. We have deaf culture, we have deaf events going on and 24/7 we’re constantly being able to talk to each other because we have our language. ASL is so valuable for other people too but ASL, wow it’s helped me get through so many parts of life. I’m able to communicate and like I just said and as Jeff mentioned earlier it just helps us get through life. That’s our way of communicating” said Garza

If you know someone who is deaf and you think they can benefit from something like the Southwest College for the Deaf or the ECISD Regional Day School Program For The Deaf you can reach out and learn more about what they offer.