Skip to content
KiKi Layne in a scene from  Nicole Riegel's "Dandelion." (Courtesy of IFC Films)
KiKi Layne in a scene from Nicole Riegel’s “Dandelion.” (Courtesy of IFC Films)
MOVIES Stephen Schaefer
PUBLISHED:

In “Dandelion” Kiki Layne is the struggling Cincinnati singer-songwriter of the title, trying like heck to perform her music, hoping for a break.

Layne is an accomplished musician on the flute and French horn but a guitarist and lead vocalist?  Not until “Dandelion” came along.
“Learning guitar was very different,” Layne, 32, said in a Zoom interview. “That’s one of the cool things about acting: Certain characters require new skills.

“I was excited about being able to learn at least some aspects of playing guitar. Obviously, a couple months isn’t going to make you look like you’ve been playing your entire life. But it gets you somewhere that’s believable.”

As for singing as Dandelion? That was something else.

“I’ve been singing my whole life. So that was something I felt I could do.  But it’s interesting, I’ve been on quite a journey with sharing my singing voice. This film let me get past some of my fears around sharing my singing voice. That’s been exciting.”

Unexpectedly exciting was to discover filming in South Dakota, the state famous for Mount Rushmore, Custer’s Last Stand and the annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. Dandelion goes there to compete for a cash performance prize.

“That was really wonderful! Because South Dakota wasn’t on my list of places to go and things to see.

“But now I’m actually very grateful that I did get the opportunity to go there because it’s actually quite beautiful.  The landscapes there! It’s very, very special. Honestly, I think it’s one of the most beautiful and like meditative places that I’ve been.”

Does she see “Dandelion” as a female empowerment picture with its story of a woman struggling – and succeeding – in finding her inner strength and purpose?

“I wouldn’t call it female empowerment as much as ‘artist empowerment.’ What we see Dandelion go through is something that any artist can relate to – of just trying to find space for who you are, authentically, as an artist, and finding your voice.”

As for the film’s memorable confrontation scene, when Dandelion’s ailing mother tells her daughter what she really thinks about this barely there career?

“Anyone wants their parents to be supportive of their child’s dreams and all the things that they want to do in the world. But it’s your responsibility as a parent to give your child the tools they need in order to have stability in their life.

“In that scene you see her mom’s desire for her daughter to be able to take care of herself. To not be scraping by in life.

“While it’s harsh, you feel the love there, the desire any parent has for their child to be okay.”

 “Dandelion” is in theaters July 12