I-165 back open after semi crash spills molten aluminum in Daviess Co.

I-165 back open after semi crash spills molten aluminum in Daviess Co.
Published: Jun. 27, 2024 at 5:32 AM CDT

DAVIESS CO., Ky. (WFIE) - Northbound Interstate 165 is back open following a crash that involved a commercial vehicle that was hauling around 500 gallons molten aluminum on the Natcher Parkway.

Early Thursday, the crash happened at the Fairview Drive overpass.

Officials say both northbound lanes and the southbound left lane were closed after the crash.

According to a release, the closure lasted over 15 hours due to the nature of the materials being handled.

Officer Matt Hughes says they were working in overtime to get stuff cleaned up and reopened.

Hughes says they’re going to wait on fully repaving the road until next week once all of the ROMP traffic has left.

Masonville Fire officials say the driver was taken to the hospital for evaluation.

We will update this story as it develops.

TRAFFIC ALERT: Northbound I-165 closed due to crash in Daviess Co.
TRAFFIC ALERT: Northbound I-165 closed due to crash in Daviess Co.(Kentucky Transportation Cabinet)
TRAFFIC ALERT: Northbound I-165 closed due to crash in Daviess Co.
TRAFFIC ALERT: Northbound I-165 closed due to crash in Daviess Co.(Kentucky Transportation Cabinet)
Northbound I-165 closed due to crash in Daviess Co.