Kentucky dog battling cancer makes waves online for love of Honey Buns

Kentucky dog battling cancer makes waves online for love of Honey Buns
Published: Jun. 25, 2024 at 5:32 PM CDT

SEBREE, Ky. (WFIE) - Terri Lynn Nunn has made a habit of volunteering her time at the local animal shelter in Webster County.

That volunteering led to more than she probably ever anticipated.

“I volunteer weekly at the Webster County Animal Shelter. I go in, and I walk dogs. One day, I just kind of randomly asked, ‘was there any dogs that were kind of struggling?’” she recalls.

As it turned out, one dog in particular, Beau, was just who she was looking for.

Keeping to himself and not fond of much, if any human interaction, Terri took a swing at getting to know him.

“I got in the kennel with him, and we just kind of sat together,” she says. “He didn’t have anything to do with me.”

That is, until he discovered what she had in her back pocket.

“I kind of dragged out the Little Debby snack cake. I had one in my pocket, and I said, ‘would you like a bite?’ and he kind of did a little side eye at me, and I gave him a little bite and scooted a little closer, and that’s how we became friends,” says Nunn.

While Beau was busy discovering snack cakes, Terri discovered that Beau’s neck wasn’t just a little thick.

It looked like he had some sort of mass. She had the shelter get him into the vet, who confirmed her suspicions.

“The vet called me that day and said that Beau had Lymphoma, and it could be months, it could be years, but his time is warranted,” she says, “so at that point, I knew Beau had to come home with me.”

Somewhere over 10-years-old, just in the ballpark of 50 pounds, and sporting a new cancer diagnosis, Beau came home.

So began his new life of car rides, lounging by the pool, and of course, medication.

However, there was one part of the shelter he just couldn’t seem to let go of.

“His favorite thing in the whole world is a honey bun,” says Nunn with a smile.

Now accustomed to the finer things in life, Terri says they tried to substitute cheaper versions of the snack cake, but Beau wasn’t having it.

He was sticking exclusively to Little Debbie.

As he began his road to recovery in his new home, Nunn began sharing his story online.

This prompted not just local interest, but a surprise donation of the things he loves most.

“Little Debbie picked his story up and sent him his ‘get well’ package,” says Nunn.

Filled with Honey Buns and Zebra Cakes, Beau had his very own stash of snacks to enjoy.

While they don’t know how much time Beau has left, Terri says they’re the ones who have lucked out, getting to make him as comfortable as possible while enjoying his favorite things.

She says so many dogs just like Beau live in your local shelters.

If you can make it happen, she wants to urge others to go spend time with them or even bring home a Beau of your own.

“He’s really changed me. He’s changed my heart, and I think he’s changed a lot of people,” says Nunn.

Nunn says the Webster County Animal Shelter where Beau came from is currently holding onto roughly 30 more dogs than they’re suited to care for.

To get ahold of them to get a look at what animals they have or to perhaps volunteer some time, check out their Facebook page.