Harrison’s McNair & Yarbrough sign National Letters of Intent

Harrison’s McNair & Yarbrough sign National Letters of Intent
Published: May. 15, 2024 at 11:21 PM CDT

EVANSVILLE, Ind. (WFIE) - We had several college signings on Wednesday, as a handful of Evansville high school student-athletes, signed their national letters of intent. Two of those signings were at Harrison.

In basketball, Malachi McNair made his commitment official, with Hanover. McNair averaged about 18 points and 10 rebounds per game, with the Warriors, this past season.

Meanwhile, in football, Tanner Yarbrough will play at the next level, at Franklin College. Yarbrough played thru a broken back this past fall, but still managed to make an impact defensively. Even more impressive, is that he didn’t start playing football until his junior season.

“They were telling me how much they wanted me. They were seeing me what I was doing rebounding, scoring down low. They were in need of a big man like that, so they picked me up,” said McNair, who signed at Hanover. “When I went to go up there and play for them, the team and the guys, we really bonded well. I really like the coaches. I really like Coach Nowickie and Coach Miller.” “My dad has always been a football guy. He played football in college and in the military as well. So I give props to him because it’s kind of in my blood now. I am a little inexperienced in some parts, but I will catch on hopefully,” said Yarbrough, who signed at Franklin. “When I first started playing, I was thinking I am catching on pretty well and I am getting pretty good at it really fast, so maybe I can get to college with it, but I always thought I was going to go to college for baseball, but now I’m here signing for football.” McNair says he’s going to major in business, while Yarbrough is considering either sports management or sports communications.