6:00: Morning News

Rising sophomore Evans eager to continue displaying improvement throughout busy summer

As a rising sophomore at Washington High School, Tommy Evans’ golf legacy is far from defined.

But the Charles Town resident has made his mark on the links and then some, particularly as it pertains to statewide events, of which he will compete in another starting Monday in the West Virginia Junior Amateur Championship at Canaan Valley Resort.

Two years ago, Evans won the Junior Amateur boys 13-14 division by shooting 3-under par over two rounds at Sleepy Hollow Golf Club for a four-shot victory.

After moving up to the boys championship division in 2023, Evans used a second-round 71 to move up three spots on the leaderboard and finish fifth at 5-over par at Guyan Golf & Country Club.

“I’ve played at Canaan and I’m not really trying to press anything and shoot super low,” Evans said of his mentality entering the event. “I just want to keep the ball in play and make a couple putts here and there. Hopefully that’ll do the job for me.”

Evans enters the 54-hole event one of the top contenders and for good reason. 

He wrapped up his freshman season at WHS by winning the Class AAA individual championship and firing the best round of any golfer at the WVSSAC State Championship contested at Speidel Golf Club’s Jones Course at Oglebay Resort. Evans carded a 71 in his state tournament debut, then followed it up with a 67 to finish 4-under par — seven shots in front of the next closest golfer.

Evans’ performance and the Patriots’ depth led to Washington capturing the Class AAA team crown by 17 shots as well.

“I had no numbers in my mind,” Evans said that October afternoon. “I didn’t know until I got in that I was one off the course record, so that’s great.”

Last month, Evans made his second appearance in the West Virginia Amateur at The Greenbrier, where he finished in a two-way tie for 16th at 10-over par. The highlight of Evans’ showing was an opening round 69, while he shot 75 the next day and 73 each of the final two rounds.

One year earlier, in his state amateur debut, Evans shot 75 each of his first two rounds, before carding consecutive 69s to move his way up the leaderboard into a two-way tie for seventh at 8-over par.

“The first amateur I played in was a regular tournament for me and I didn’t know what to expect coming into it,” Evans said. “I played solid the first two days and made the cut, and the next two days I swung freely and made it happen.

“This year, I came in with bigger expectations knowing I can hang with the big boys. It was kind of a disappointing showing, but then again, tied for 16th is not bad at all.”

The experience was far different than that of a high school match, with Evans playing alongside 47-year-old Alum Creek native Tad Tomblin and 30-year-old Woody Woodward of Bridgeport each of his first two rounds at this year’s amateur.

“It’s a great experience hearing their life story, how they did in junior golf and stuff,” Evans said. “Playing with Woody the first two days of the amateur, he talked to me about his junior golf, what he did to promote himself to go to a great college [Wake Forest] and he opened my eyes a little bit to playing in some bigger tournaments that I’ll be ready for this year, so big thanks to him.”

West Virginia Amateur low junior Tommy Evans (left) and low senior Jonathan Clark. Photo by Joe Brocato

Evans has already participated in several notable out-of-state tournaments this summer.

 The week before the state amateur, he finished in a five-way tie for 22nd in the 40th annual Scott Robertson Memorial Tournament at Roanoke Country Club in Roanoke, Va., a 54-hole event that features golfers from all across the United States and several international competitors.

Evans shot rounds of 71-77-69 in Roanoke.

“I’m exempt for next year into a strong field, so I was happy with that,” Evans said.

Earlier this month, Evans finished in a two-way tie for fourth at the American Junior Golf Association’s 60-player tournament at Gauntlet Golf Club in Fredericksburg, Va. He shot 74-69-73 over the three rounds to finish even par and behind only one player from the United States.

“The second day, I was 1-under through three and triple bogeyed the fourth hole and that was kind of a mood killer on the front,” Evans said. “I turned it on playing the back and had five birdies and one bogey. The final day, I was 2-under through 15 and one back of the lead. I was pressing too hard trying to make birdies and bogeyed the last three to tie for the fourth, which was definitely a solid finish, but not what I was looking for.”

Later this summer, Evans will try to secure his spot in the West Virginia Open when he plays a qualifier at The Club at Cress Creek on July 18. Evans has made only one appearance in a state open before, that coming in 2022 when he missed the cut by two shots at Stonewall Resort’s Palmer Course ahead of entering the eighth grade.

As he prepares for events throughout the remainder of summer, Evans has a specific focus while working on his game at his home course of Locust Hill.

“I’ve really been trying to work on feel wedges from 60 and 70 yards,” he said. “That’s never really been my strong suit. I’m hitting a lot of wedges on the range and I definitely feel improvement in my game, which is big for me.”

Before long, he will begin his sophomore campaign at WHS, and Evans will come into the season more known after his success from last year.

“Our team is definitely not as strong as we were last year losing our No. 2 and 4 golfers, but we have a lot of up and coming kids that are getting better,” Evans said. “I’d like to win states again individually, especially playing against big names and guys I now know. But I’m more looking forward to bonding with the team and playing with them.”





More Sports

Sports
La Familia handles Herd That, 95-66
Kentucky's alumni team had its way in the Lexington Regional final at Rupp Arena.
July 24, 2024 - 12:06 am
Sports
Mountaineers still working to develop identity under DeVries, but WVU coach well aware what he wants it to be
Tucker DeVries has been cleared to practice for one week after undergoing shoulder surgery early into the offseason. Joseph Yesufu remains at least a few weeks out from practicing after suffering a season-ending hip injury last year at Washington State.
July 23, 2024 - 6:32 pm
Sports
John Fowkes named head coach of the Morgantown girls basketball program
Fowkes has been an assistant coach for both MHS basketball programs and the head coach at Trinity.
July 23, 2024 - 5:55 pm
Sports
Photo gallery: Mountaineers hold open summer practice in advance of trip to Italy
West Virginia plays its first of three games in Italy on August 3.
July 23, 2024 - 4:35 pm