Tom Cruise Still Talks to ‘Edge of Tomorrow’ Director About Making a Sequel, Even 10 Years Later; Doug Liman Says: ‘We Love That World’

EDGE OF TOMORROW, Tom Cruise, 2014. ©Warner Bros. Pictures/courtesy Everett Collection
©Warner Bros/Courtesy Everett Collection

Tom Cruise is apparently still interested in “Edge of Tomorrow 2,” according to director Doug Liman. Speaking to Empire magazine, Liman said that he recently rewatched the 2014 action movie with his leading man, and the two continue to be in touch about the long-planned sequel.

“No, we keep talking about it,” Liman said when asked if “Edge of Tomorrow 2″ is dead. “We love that world.”

“Tom and I just actually rewatched it about two months ago, because I hadn’t seen it in 10 years,” he added. “I was like, ‘Wow, that is a really good movie.’” 

Related Stories

Liman, Cruise and co-star Emily Blunt have all expressed continued interest in making “Edge of Tomorrow 2” during the 10 years since the original film’s release. The 2014 film was based on novel “All You Need Is Kill” by Hiroshi Sakurazaka and starred Cruise has a soldier reliving the same day over and over as he tries to prevent an alien invasion from wiping out humanity. The movie was a moderate box office success with $370 million worldwide but has proven to be a continued hit with action movie fans.

Popular on Variety

“I haven’t necessarily always had the good fortune of having movies that have huge opening weekends,” Liman told Empire. “‘Bourne Identity’ lost to ‘Scooby-Doo’ [on] its opening weekend. And ‘Swingers’ came and went from the theaters. What I’ve come to understand is, I’m making movies for the long term. I’m an ego-driven guy, I’d like to get accolades now. But I also recognize that, if I was given the choice, I’ll choose making films that people 50 years from now are still watching.”

Warner Bros. announced in 2019 that it was officially developing an “Edge of Tomorrow 2,” but there’s been no concrete updates since then. Cruise recently signed a deal with Warner Bros. to develop movies, which has led many fans to wonder if that will include a sequel.

Emily Blunt appeared on Variety’s “Awards Circuit” podcast last December and revealed she also has continued talks with Liman about a sequel.

“Doug and I talk all the time about it,” Blunt said. “I know Tom wants to do it, hopefully, at some point. But it’s timing, but it’s also been 10 years since we made it…There was an amazing script in the works, but I think it would only have worked if we shot it eight years ago. I’m not saying we’re that ancient, but you have to factor in it’s been 10 years.”

More from Variety

\