Jeff Goldblum sent Scarlett Johansson a surprise on live television by officially welcoming her into the “Jurassic” family while she was being interviewed on “Today.” Johansson, who is headlining the new “Jurassic World” movie, was on the NBC morning news show to promote her rom-com “Fly Me to the Moon” when a video Goldblum personally recorded for her was shown on air.

Goldblum starred as Dr. Ian Malcolm in Steven Spielberg’s original “Jurassic Park” film in 1993 and reprised the character in three more sequels, including 2022’s “Jurassic World Dominion.”

“Dr. Johansson, this is Jeff Goldblum. Here’s what I want to say to you. This I know: Scarlett will find a way,” he said, referring to the franchise’s iconic “life finds a way” line. “Don’t get eaten, unless you want to. I love you.”

Related Stories

The video ended with Goldblum blowing Johansson a kiss. The two actors previously starred together in Wes Anderson’s “Asteroid City.” Goldblum is not expected to appear in the new “Jurassic World” film, which is being directed by “Rogue One” and “Godzilla” filmmaker Gareth Edwards from a script penned by David Koepp. The screenwriter is returning to the dinosaur franchise after having penned “Jurassic Park” (1993) and “The Lost World: Jurassic Park” (1997).

Popular on Variety

“Oh my god, I can’t believe Jeff said that to me,” Johansson reacted. “I think my life is complete now. I can retire.”

The new “Jurassic World” movie is an entirely new story that’s separate from the first “Jurassic World” trilogy that starred Chris Pratt and Bryce Dallas Howard. All three “Jurassic World” movies grossed more than $1 billion each at the worldwide box office. Johansson is leading the new movie opposite Jonathan Bailey, Manuel Garcia-Rulfo, Mahershala Ali, Rupert Friend, Luna Blaise and David Iacono. The film is in production in Thailand.

Johansson told ComicBook.com last month that “the script is so incredible” for the fourth “Jurassic World” movie.

“I am an enormous ‘Jurassic Park’ fan,” Johansson said. “It is one of the first movies I remember seeing in theaters. I remember it so vividly. It was life-changing and mind blowing. I cannot express how excited I am.”

“David Koepp wrote it and returned after 30 years to write it and he’s so passionate about it,” Johansson added. “I’ve been trying to get into this franchise in any possible way for over 10 years. I’m like, ‘I’ll die in the first five minutes! I can get eaten by whatever! I’ll do the craft service!’ I’ll do anything for it. The fact that it’s happened in this way at this time just is actually unbelievable.”

The new “Jurassic World” film is set for release on July 2, 2025 from Universal.

More from Variety

\