My Biggest Culture Shocks Living in Austria

Culture shock is defined as when someone travels to a new country and feels disoriented by the unfamiliarities, and it is fair to say that when I arrived in Austria, I was met with quite a few culture shocks. So, I thought I would share some of the culture shocks I experienced during my time living in Austria.

Cash: In Austria, cash is not only preferred but often the only method of payment accepted, and there are few exceptions to this. When I first arrived, I was caught off guard and had to bear the embarrassment of leaving a restaurant and hunting down a cash machine! So be prepared, and carry euros.

Cashiers: This culture shock may sound silly, but the cashiers in Austria are so fast that they put Aldi cashiers to shame! On my first trip to the supermarket, the sheer speed of the cashiers combined with the small packing area resulted in me spilling an entire punnet of blueberries across the whole of the store! However, I quickly learned that there are packing areas at the side of the shop where you are able to bag all of your items without having to stress over matching the speed of the cashiers.

Punctuality and rules:  Austrians are very punctual and rule-adhering. I personally liked the Austrian punctuality, as I am someone who is always on time, so it was nice to know that my Austrian friends would also be on time! This sense of punctuality also extends to public transport, which was refreshing given how common train cancellations and subway delays can be in Scotland! Austrians are also very strict about following rules, which can be inconvenient at times. For example, even if the road is clear, you must cross at a crossing and wait for the green light, or you will be met with some unpleasant looks from the locals and you can even be fined for it by the police.

Smoking: I will now forever associate the smell of cigarette smoke with Austria, as smoking was extremely common and was permitted almost everywhere, including restaurants. Although it was initially quite an adjustment, I found myself not even noticing the smoke wafting around my table by the end of my exchange.

Sundays: Austria’s culture shock came in hot and heavy when I landed in the country on a Sunday. In Austria, shops are typically closed on Sundays and public holidays. This also means that many restaurants, coffee shops, and supermarkets are all closed. So for my first day in Austria, I was living off of McDonald’s, which was thankfully open, but I cannot say I was complaining about it.

Although I encountered all of these differences, difference does not necessarily imply better or worse; it is simply different from what I had known. Cultural differences are part of what makes travelling so special, and I found it interesting to experience all of the cultural differences that Austria had to offer.

~ Amy (Go Abroad Ambassador 2023/24)

Posted by

Follow the adventures of University of Glasgow students taking part in the Go Abroad and Visiting Student programmes. You can read their stories, interact with them and learn from their experiences. We hope you enjoy the journey!

Leave a comment