A day in the life of a student at Singapore Management University

Classes at SMU are a little different as typically the class length is 3 1/2 hours, and you only have one class per subject per week. Usually, people try to have two classes per day, meaning you only have two days of classes. Although this doesn’t sound like a lot, trust me you will be in uni most days because of group project meetings, assignments, or for pre-class readings.  

For this semester I had class on a Monday and Wednesday.  

For a typical day where I have classes I would wake up at around 8am and have breakfast at my flat and get the bus into uni. The bus takes around 30 minutes so I tend to get to uni for 9am.  

Here is a photo that was taken outside the law library, which is where I tend to do most of my studying. I usually work for about two hours before my classes in the afternoon. 

To fuel up for my classes I like to get a big lunch as you don’t want to be sat there hungry for three hours! There are lots of great options for food located at SMU, so I never run out of choice. Here is a salad from SuperGreen, which I get quite often as it is hard to get veggies in Singapore which I found quite surprising at first! 

I am not a massive coffee drinker, but I love matcha so I tend to go most weeks with a friend or by myself if I want to study. My favourite place to get matcha is a five minute walk from campus at a place called Chijmes, there are lots of lovely cafés and restaurants here.  

I am so lucky to have a swimming pool at my apartment block, this is not a luxury I have back home so I try to make the most of it and go most days. It is so nice to have a relaxing swim after a busy day of uni. It is also nice to cool down as Singapore is obviously so hot! 

I don’t think I could ever get bored of the food here, I absolutely love it. Where I live has amazing hawkers with such a range of food. One of my favourite dishes is the Pad See Ew from the Thai stall. It is like a Pad Thai but with thicker noodles, so delicious!  

Sometimes I do an evening activity with my friends, such as watching the sunset over the city at Marina Barrage. Other times we are so busy with work that we just want to go home and relax! 

If you have any questions about my typical day studying in Singapore, please feel free to ask ⁉️ 

~ Mabel (Go Abroad Ambassador 2023/24)

Posted by

Follow the adventures of University of Glasgow students taking part in the Go Abroad and Visiting Student programmes. You can read their stories, interact with them and learn from their experiences. We hope you enjoy the journey!

Leave a comment