Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
User1865345
  • 9.4k
  • 11
  • 23
  • 38

This is really a hypothetical question not related to an actual issue I have, so this question is just out of curiosity. I'm aware of this other related question What should I do when a confidence interval includes an impossible range of values? but I think that the details of what I have in mind are different.

Say I want to estimate the proportion of something in a population. I know from qualitative studies that this "something" absolutely does exist in the population, even though it is rare (how rare, I don't really have information about that, except for the couple of observations described in the few qualitative studies on the subject). I plan to compute binomial confidence intervals (e.g. Wilson confidence intervals) to get an estimation of plausible proportions in the population.

However, after randomly sampling a few thousand observations from the population, I fail to identify any of this "something" in my sample, so the confidence interval includes 0, even though I know for a fact that zero is not a possible value, and that there are no problems with my sampling method (except a sample size that is apparently not large enough).

Example with R, where "lwr.ci" is the computed lower bound of the CI:

> library("DescTools")
> BinomCI(0, 50000, conf.level = 0.95, sides = "two.sided", method = "wilson")

      est  lwr.ci        upr.ci
[1,]    0       0  7.682327e-05
> library("DescTools")
> BinomCI(0, 50000, conf.level = 0.95, sides = "two.sided", method = "wilson")
    
          est  lwr.ci        upr.ci
    [1,]    0       0  7.682327e-05

What are some ways to solve this problem and compute an estimation that does not include 0 in the first place? Is it a situation where I should use credible intervals? (If so, what would be some correct ways to define the priors?)

This is really a hypothetical question not related to an actual issue I have, so this question is just out of curiosity. I'm aware of this other related question What should I do when a confidence interval includes an impossible range of values? but I think that the details of what I have in mind are different.

Say I want to estimate the proportion of something in a population. I know from qualitative studies that this "something" absolutely does exist in the population, even though it is rare (how rare, I don't really have information about that, except for the couple of observations described in the few qualitative studies on the subject). I plan to compute binomial confidence intervals (e.g. Wilson confidence intervals) to get an estimation of plausible proportions in the population.

However, after randomly sampling a few thousand observations from the population, I fail to identify any of this "something" in my sample, so the confidence interval includes 0, even though I know for a fact that zero is not a possible value, and that there are no problems with my sampling method (except a sample size that is apparently not large enough).

Example with R, where "lwr.ci" is the computed lower bound of the CI:

> library("DescTools")
> BinomCI(0, 50000, conf.level = 0.95, sides = "two.sided", method = "wilson")

      est  lwr.ci        upr.ci
[1,]    0       0  7.682327e-05

What are some ways to solve this problem and compute an estimation that does not include 0 in the first place? Is it a situation where I should use credible intervals? (If so, what would be some correct ways to define the priors?)

This is really a hypothetical question not related to an actual issue I have, so this question is just out of curiosity. I'm aware of this other related question What should I do when a confidence interval includes an impossible range of values? but I think that the details of what I have in mind are different.

Say I want to estimate the proportion of something in a population. I know from qualitative studies that this "something" absolutely does exist in the population, even though it is rare (how rare, I don't really have information about that, except for the couple of observations described in the few qualitative studies on the subject). I plan to compute binomial confidence intervals (e.g. Wilson confidence intervals) to get an estimation of plausible proportions in the population.

However, after randomly sampling a few thousand observations from the population, I fail to identify any of this "something" in my sample, so the confidence interval includes 0, even though I know for a fact that zero is not a possible value, and that there are no problems with my sampling method (except a sample size that is apparently not large enough).

Example with R, where "lwr.ci" is the computed lower bound of the CI:

> library("DescTools")
> BinomCI(0, 50000, conf.level = 0.95, sides = "two.sided", method = "wilson")
    
          est  lwr.ci        upr.ci
    [1,]    0       0  7.682327e-05

What are some ways to solve this problem and compute an estimation that does not include 0 in the first place? Is it a situation where I should use credible intervals? (If so, what would be some correct ways to define the priors?)

Became Hot Network Question
example in R, in case my explanation isn't clear
Source Link
Coris
  • 73
  • 4

This is really a hypothetical question not related to an actual issue I have, so this question is just out of curiosity. I'm aware of this other related question What should I do when a confidence interval includes an impossible range of values? but I think that the details of what I have in mind are different.

Say I want to estimate the proportion of something in a population. I know from qualitative studies that this "something" absolutely does exist in the population, even though it is rare (how rare, I don't really have information about that, except for the couple of observations described in the few qualitative studies on the subject). I plan to compute binomial confidence intervals (e.g. Wilson confidence intervals) to get an estimation of plausible proportions in the population.

However, after randomly sampling a few thousand observations from the population, I fail to identify any of this "something" in my sample, so the confidence interval includes 0, even though I know for a fact that zero is not a possible value, and that there are no problems with my sampling method (except a sample size that is apparently not large enough).

Example with R, where "lwr.ci" is the computed lower bound of the CI:

> library("DescTools")
> BinomCI(0, 50000, conf.level = 0.95, sides = "two.sided", method = "wilson")

      est  lwr.ci        upr.ci
[1,]    0       0  7.682327e-05

What are some ways to solve this problem and compute an estimation that does not include 0 in the first place? Is it a situation where I should use credible intervals? (If so, what would be some correct ways to define the priors?)

This is really a hypothetical question not related to an actual issue I have, so this question is just out of curiosity. I'm aware of this other related question What should I do when a confidence interval includes an impossible range of values? but I think that the details of what I have in mind are different.

Say I want to estimate the proportion of something in a population. I know from qualitative studies that this "something" absolutely does exist in the population, even though it is rare (how rare, I don't really have information about that, except for the couple of observations described in the few qualitative studies on the subject). I plan to compute binomial confidence intervals (e.g. Wilson confidence intervals) to get an estimation of plausible proportions in the population.

However, after randomly sampling a few thousand observations from the population, I fail to identify any of this "something" in my sample, so the confidence interval includes 0, even though I know for a fact that zero is not a possible value, and that there are no problems with my sampling method (except a sample size that is apparently not large enough).

What are some ways to solve this problem and compute an estimation that does not include 0 in the first place? Is it a situation where I should use credible intervals? (If so, what would be some correct ways to define the priors?)

This is really a hypothetical question not related to an actual issue I have, so this question is just out of curiosity. I'm aware of this other related question What should I do when a confidence interval includes an impossible range of values? but I think that the details of what I have in mind are different.

Say I want to estimate the proportion of something in a population. I know from qualitative studies that this "something" absolutely does exist in the population, even though it is rare (how rare, I don't really have information about that, except for the couple of observations described in the few qualitative studies on the subject). I plan to compute binomial confidence intervals (e.g. Wilson confidence intervals) to get an estimation of plausible proportions in the population.

However, after randomly sampling a few thousand observations from the population, I fail to identify any of this "something" in my sample, so the confidence interval includes 0, even though I know for a fact that zero is not a possible value, and that there are no problems with my sampling method (except a sample size that is apparently not large enough).

Example with R, where "lwr.ci" is the computed lower bound of the CI:

> library("DescTools")
> BinomCI(0, 50000, conf.level = 0.95, sides = "two.sided", method = "wilson")

      est  lwr.ci        upr.ci
[1,]    0       0  7.682327e-05

What are some ways to solve this problem and compute an estimation that does not include 0 in the first place? Is it a situation where I should use credible intervals? (If so, what would be some correct ways to define the priors?)

it's about estimation
Link
Coris
  • 73
  • 4
better title I guess
Link
Coris
  • 73
  • 4
Loading
Source Link
Coris
  • 73
  • 4
Loading