Advertisement

Caleb Martin explains decision to leave Heat to join Sixers in free agency

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

CAMDEN, N.J. — The Philadelphia 76ers picked up a key piece in free agency in bringing in Caleb Martin from the Miami Heat. Martin was a key piece of the Heat reaching the Eastern Conference finals in 2022 and then getting to the finals in 2023.

He is a key role player who is expected to do the little things in order to help the Sixers succeed and be able to get over the hump in the Eastern Conference. While the Paul George addition will steal all the headlines, the addition of Martin should not be understated.

The veteran out of Nevada did leave some money on the table with the Heat. Reports stated that Miami offered him roughly $65 million while the Sixers got him for 4-years $32 million per reports.

“Just certain things didn’t work,” Martin said of the contract offer from the Heat. “There’s a lot of things behind the scenes that went on, but ultimately, there was a lot in making that decision and there’s a lot that contributed to how everything went, but past is past. Can’t do nothing about that and like I said, I’m looking forward to being here and being a part of Philly and try to bring everything I can in order to try to win a championship so that’s my main focus now.”

That’s a big money difference to leave a place where he has gotten comfortable and experienced a lot of winning for three seasons in South Florida. There could be the human nature factor of leaving money on the table, but Martin isn’t worried about any of that.

“I mean, you’re always gonna wish you make as much money as you can, you know what I mean?” Martin added. “That’s part of the game. That’s part of life and you live and learn and you take risks and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t, but I’m a true believer in everything happens for a reason and I feel like I’m here for a reason. One of those reasons, I feel like, is a pathway to try and get to a championship.”

In terms of why he joined the Sixers, that answer is simple. Philadelphia is talented led by George, Joel Embiid, and Tyrese Maxey to form one of the more talented trios in the league. Martin feels as if he can fill that gap and help the Sixers win.

“Why not? It’s a great place,” Martin stated. “I plan on doing something special. The last couple years, I’ve been a part of winning. That’s been a main factor for me. Especially, the last couple years and I just think it’s one of the best places to do it. They’re putting a great team together. They’ve got a lot of guys with a lot of talent so I think it should elevate my game in a personal way and as a team, I feel like we can do something special.”

Martin then reflected on how tough it is to play in Philadelphia. He remembered giving the fans free chicken when he missed two free throws in the second half of Philadelphia’s 105-104 play-in tournament win over the Heat. He is happy to be on the other side of that now.

“It’s always tough,” he laughed. “The fans make it—I think the last time I was here, I think I gave the fans some chicken so the people ain’t let me live that down yet so just the atmosphere and just how much they ride for their fans. They’ll let you hear it whenever you playing bad, too so I like to think that type of pressure is good for you so I’m excited.”

Follow your favorite Philly teams on Sixers Wire and The Eagles Wire.

Gannett may earn revenue from sports betting operators for audience referrals to betting services. Sports betting operators have no influence over nor are any such revenues in any way dependent on or linked to the newsrooms or news coverage. Terms apply, see operator site for Terms and Conditions. If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, help is available. Call the National Council on Problem Gambling 24/7 at 1-800-GAMBLER (NJ, OH), 1-800-522-4700 (CO), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN). Must be 21 or older to gamble. Sports betting and gambling are not legal in all locations. Be sure to comply with laws applicable where you reside.

More 76ers