Skip to main content

Timeline for Can omnipotent beings exist?

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 25, 2023 at 15:29 comment added Corbin @MarcoOcram: And in my answer, I show that there are certain things which are logically impossible for anybody.
Jun 25, 2023 at 5:21 comment added Marco Ocram @thinkingman your are absolutely right, I should have said that omnipotent beings would be logically possible. I will not change my answer, but leave it as an eternal monument to my sloppiness.
Jun 24, 2023 at 23:32 comment added user62907 “If you restrict omnipotent to mean capable of doing anything that is logically possible, then omnipotent beings can, again by definition, exist.” “Can exist” does not mean “can be conceived of.” Saying that something can exist needs to be demonstrated just like fairies do. So I don’t think what you said there is correct.
Jun 24, 2023 at 19:11 comment added Marco Ocram @Corbin, yes you can do anything that is logically possible for you. You cannot do certain things that would be logically possible for Superman, say.
Jun 24, 2023 at 17:31 comment added Ludwig V I'm not sure what you mean by "encodable". But the point remains that "impossible" does not have (except perhaps in philosophy) a univocal use. Logiaclly, physically, legally, psychologically, possible/impossible have different meanings, depending on the context or language-game that is involved. (Other kinds of possibility/impossibilitiy are, of course, available).
Jun 24, 2023 at 17:07 comment added Corbin Just a quick sanity check: Aren't you and I capable of doing anything that is logically possible? Physical constraints are all encodable as logical descriptions.
Jun 24, 2023 at 15:32 history answered Marco Ocram CC BY-SA 4.0