Movies

Meagan Good defends dating Jonathan Majors amid assault trial: ‘Trust God’

Meagan Good defended her decision to start her relationship with Jonathan Majors in the midst of his assault trial.

The “Think Like a Man” actress appeared on Tuesday’s episode of “Today with Hoda and Jenna” when co-host Hoda Kotb asked her if any of her friends suggested that she should “wait to see how everything kinda shakes out” with the trial before dating him.

“Uh, yeah every friend advised me, but at the end of the day, one thing I know is I can always look at myself in the mirror when I trust my spirit, when I trust God, when I ask God, and when I move to the beat of my own drum,” she explained.

Meagan Good stood by her decision to start dating Jonathan Majors during his assault trial. TODAY with Hoda & Jenna/NBC
“One thing I know is I can always look at myself in the mirror when I trust my spirit, when I trust God,” she said on Tuesday’s episode of “Today with Hoda and Jenna.” TODAY with Hoda & Jenna/NBC

Good, 42, clarified that she “take[s] everyone I love’s opinion and advice into account for sure,” but she has to “live my life.”

“I can always look and say, ‘OK, I’m proud of that.’ No matter whatever happens, I have peace in my heart, and I have harmony in my heart,” she added.

Good reminded people that she is the only one who can “give God an account of what I did, and so I wanna be responsible for the choices that I make, and I also wanna live the life that I wanna live.”

The “Think Like a Man” actress admitted she had friends who “advised” her not to date Majors until after his trial had ended. TODAY with Hoda & Jenna/NBC
Good gushed that their relationship is “wonderful.” Getty Images

The “Anchorman 2” actress also reflected on the last year of their “wonderful” relationship and gushed about the “support” they’ve shared for one another.

“The support we’ve been able to give each other, the pouring into each other, the honest conversations, the love, the respect, just the care and the thoughtfulness, it’s just been really wonderful,” she raved.

Good and Majors, 34, made their red carpet debut at the 7th annual AAFCA Special Achievement Awards in March –– three months after he was found guilty of assault and harassment.

Good and Majors confirmed their relationship in June 2023. Getty Images
The “Shazam!” actress joined the “Lovecraft Country” actor at the New York City courthouse for his assault trial. Getty Images

During the red carpet, the “Lovecraft Country” actor didn’t hold back about their relationship and told Extra that they were “in love” and “doing good.”

The couple first sparked romance rumors in May 2023 after fans spotted them together and they were later photographed boarding a plane together and doing other low-key activities.

They eventually confirmed their relationship when Good chose to join Majors for his court hearings the following month in New York City.

Majors was arrested in March 2023 after an alleged domestic violence incident with ex-girlfriend Grace Jabbari. Getty Images
The “Da 5 Bloods” actor was found guilty on of two misdemeanor counts of assault and harassment in December 2023. Getty Images

Majors’ legal trouble began in March 2023 when he was taken into custody following an alleged domestic violence incident with ex-girlfriend Grace Jabbari.

The “Creed III” star was subsequently charged with strangulation, assault and harassment. However, authorities eventually dropped the strangulation charge.

In December 2023, Majors was found guilty on of two misdemeanor counts of assault and harassment. He was sentenced to 52 weeks of a domestic violence intervention program and probation in April.

Majors and Good have continued to go strong in their relationship, despite the legal issues. WireImage
Majors has maintained his innocence in the March 2023 incident. GC Images

Majors and his attorneys have vehemently denied the allegations and shared their plans to appeal the convictions.

In March, Majors faced more legal issues when Jabbari filed a new lawsuit that accused Majors of assault, defamation and battery and claimed that Majors abused her from 2021 to 2023. Majors has yet to comment on the recent claims.

If you or someone you know is affected by any of the issues raised in this story, call the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1.800.799.SAFE (7233) or text START to 88788.