TV

Kelly Bensimon’s reason for calling off her wedding to financier Scott Litner revealed

Kelly Bensimon called off her wedding to financier Scott Litner because he wouldn’t sign a prenuptial agreement.

“He thought that I would enter this union without legal protections in place, that I would leave everything to faith,” the “Real Housewives of New York City” alum told Entertainment Tonight. 

“But I’ve worked really, really hard as a single mother and have always made smart decisions for myself and my family, and that will continue.” 

Kelly Bensimon called off her wedding to financier Scott Litner because he refused to sign a prenuptial agreement. Patrick McMullan via Getty Images
“He thought that I would enter this union without legal protections in place, that I would leave everything to faith,” she told ET. Getty Images

Bensimon’s rep also told the outlet that the real estate agent is disappointed by the broken engagement, but it became “clear” to her Tuesday afternoon that the nuptials wouldn’t work out because he wouldn’t sign the legal document.

“To be clear, he refused to sign a prenuptial agreement, and I refused to marry him,” she added in a statement to People. “Full stop.”

Litner hasn’t responded to Page Six’s requests for comment.

Page Six broke the news on Tuesday that the “RHONY” alum backed out just four days before they were set to tie the knot. Getty Images for ABA
“I have decided that my two daughters are my priority and I won’t be moving forward with this wedding,” she told us. kellybensimon/Instagram
She and the Morgan Stanley employee were supposed to marry at his mother’s house in Boston on Saturday. Chelsea Guglielmino/Bravo via Getty Images

Page Six broke the news on Tuesday that the former Bravolebrity broke up with Litner, 55, just four days before they were set to marry — and on the same day she was set to pick up her three wedding dresses from Kleinfeld’s.

“I have decided that my two daughters are my priority and I won’t be moving forward with this wedding,” Bensimon, 56, told us in a statement before asking for privacy.

The now-former couple were set to say “I do” in Litner’s mother’s back yard in Boston in front of friends and family on Saturday.

The Douglas Elliman agent recently enjoyed a mini bachelorette trip with her two daughters, Sea, 26, and Teddy, 24, at Sandals Dunn’s River in Jamaica.

The socialite and the Morgan Stanley employee got engaged last year during a Fourth of July vacation to Lake Geneva, Wis., near where she grew up.