Movies

Kevin Costner reveals another son has a role in ‘Horizon’ after defending ‘selfishly’ casting Hayes

After defending “selfishly” casting his son Hayes in “Horizon: An American Saga,” Kevin Costner revealed another one of his children has a role in the Western franchise, too.

“My oldest son was in a scene in ‘Chapter 2,’ and, a small part again,” the “Yellowstone” star, 69, told Fox News Digital in an interview published Monday.

The first film hits theaters Friday, and the second installment is scheduled to be released on Aug. 16.

Kevin Costner revealed he cast another one of his sons in his “Horizons: An American Saga” franchise. Chelsea Lauren/Shutterstock
Costner said his eldest son, Joe (far right), will appear in the second film. Getty Images
Kevin shares Joe with ex-wife Cindy Silva (not pictured). FilmMagic
He did not elaborate on which role Joe (second from the right) played. WireImage

Kevin, 69, shares son Joe, 36, and daughters Annie, 40, and Lily, 37, with his first ex-wife, Cindy Silva.

The actor is also the father of son Liam, 26, with ex-girlfriend Bridget Rooney, as well as sons Cayden, 17, and Hayes, 15, and daughter Grace, 14, with his second ex-wife, Christine Baumgartner.

“They’re all supportive of each other,” he said of his seven children.

“They’re all supportive of each other,” the “Yellowstone” star said of his seven kids. Getty Images
He shared the news after defending casting his 15-year-old son, Hayes, in the first film. Getty Images

Kevin joked that he is trying to “find ways to trap them” into acting, but he quickly clarified that he had “not pushed” his kids to pursue careers in Hollywood.

The Oscar winner did not specify the role that Joe has in the second “Horizon” movie, but Hayes plays a character named Nathaniel Kittredge in the first.

“That he did it, that he was good in it, that he listened, that he was worried, that he cared. I’m just so happy that he has that now the rest of his life,” Kevin said of Hayes. “I haven’t pushed my children into this, and this might be his only dabble in it, but he’s memorable. And for me to have him, I’ll never forget it.”

Kevin emphasized how he did “not push” Hayes into the role. Getty Images
“I just thought it was really cool, and it was an amazing experience,” the teen gushed. Getty Images

Hayes also spoke about working with his dad, sharing that he had an “amazing experience” on set.

“I got to spend the whole day with him every day and just see him work,” he told “Entertainment Tonight” Monday. “I had such a blast. I just thought it was really cool, and it was an amazing experience. I was just really proud of my dad. He’s been working so long. I could just only think about my dad in that moment.”

The “Dances with Wolves” star previously defended casting Hayes after fans pointed out that the teenager did not have prior acting experience and could have let a more seasoned actor take the job.

Kevin previously admitted to “selfishly” casting his teenage son. Getty Images
“He didn’t have a lot of experience, but he’s really beautiful in the movie,” he said of Hayes. Warner Bros Pictures

“He’s a beautiful boy, and he’s quiet. And I have not shoved my children into the business. I realize there are so many young actors out there that would just kill to be in this movie. And I don’t want to take those parts away from them just cause I can place my own children in,” he said on the “Today” show last week.

“I selfishly wanted him with me for the week, two weeks, he was with me. And we would drive to the set every day and he would whisper. He didn’t have a lot of experience, but he’s really beautiful in the movie.”

Kevin then expressed how “proud” he was of Hayes for giving acting a shot.