Real Estate
exclusive

Inside Anne Burrell’s maximalist Brooklyn loft with ‘Friends’ nod, Louboutin shoe wall, garden-like terrace and more

Anne Burrell has a taste for dinner and design.

The Food Network star took Page Six on an exclusive tour of her maximalist loft located in the heart of the hip Carroll Gardens neighborhood of Brooklyn, NY.

“I had an architect/designer, and … the design part he was offering was very beige — and I’m not beige,” Burrell, clad in a vibrant green and blue polka-dot dress, told us.

Anne Burrell was the brains behind the aesthetic of her Brooklyn home. Brian Zak/Page Six
The Food Network star resides in the two-bedroom, two-bathroom loft with her husband, Stuart Claxton. Brian Zak/Page Six

While she still utilized the expert for his measuring and rendering skills, the celebrity chef, 54, was the main mastermind behind the quirky interior of her two-bedroom abode.

Burrell’s pad — where she lives with her husband, Stuart Claxton, and their two cats, Marcia and Nancy — features a primary bedroom with an en suite bathroom, a gourmet chef’s kitchen opening up to a living space and dining area, and an impressive outdoor terrace overlooking the city’s elevated subway tracks.

“When I was looking for an apartment, I said to the realtor, ‘I want somewhere that is quirky and sort of old … somewhere that has good bones and is not cookie-cutter,'” the West Village transplant recalled.

“Everything here is a little crooked, and I think that suits me just well,” she added. “I think I’m a little crooked, so I feel right at home here.”

Her chef’s kitchen features state-of-the-art appliances and tons of natural light. Brian Zak/Page Six
She has a Miele oven and rustic wood countertops. Brian Zak/Page Six
Burrell said she was looking for a home that wasn’t “cookie-cutter.” Brian Zak/Page Six
“Everything here is a little crooked, and I think that suits me just well,” she shared. Brian Zak/Page Six

The focal point of the “Worst Cooks in America” host’s warm and welcoming home is, of course, her charming kitchen.

The forest green cabinetry is similar to the shade from Monica Geller and Rachel Green’s iconic New York City apartment in the ’90s sitcom “Friends.”

“I felt like I was one of the friends,” Burrell explained of her connection to the NBC show.

Burrell’s pantry brimmed with snacks and plenty of mugs. Brian Zak for PageSix.com
She keeps her fridge stocked with condiments and fresh ingredients. Brian Zak for Page Six
Guests are invited to drink any spirit from her bar area. Brian Zak/Page Six

The cooking area also includes a Miele oven, a delightfully rustic butcher-block kitchen peninsula and a refrigerator filled with fresh ingredients and no shortage of condiments.

“When I’m having dinner parties — and I have a lot of dinner parties — I love to entertain,” the “Secrets of a Restaurant Chef” alum said, noting that her open-concept kitchen allows her to be “part of the action” while cooking for her visitors.

Burrell’s stylish bar area also plays an integral role in elevating her famous supper soirées.

Burrell’s kitchen opens up into her living space. Brian Zak/Page Six
She loves her “flop-down” couch and enjoys watching television and knitting in her favorite chair. Brian Zak for PageSix.com

“Own Your Kitchen” by Anne Burrell with Suzanne Lenzer

Amazon
AMAZON $29.99 $18.47

“Whenever anyone comes over, the rule is: I make the first drink for them, and then they’re on their own after that. And please, help yourself,” she shared.

The cuisine connoisseur’s bar is brimming with top-shelf tequilas and whiskeys, though she is known for shaking up her signature Aperol Spritzes when friends come to town.

The kitchen space expands into a spacious dual living-dining area, where Burrell likes to knit on her “flop-down couch” and host exquisite seated dinners or casual game nights.

Burrell’s dining area is cozy and colorful. Brian Zak/Page Six
“When I’m having dinner parties — and I have a lot of dinner parties — I love to entertain,” she said. Brian Zak/Page Six
She enjoys using antique silverware when hosting friends for dinner. Brian Zak/Page Six

“We just like to have fun here. This is a happy house,” she said with a smile.

The self-proclaimed “hostess with the mostest” likes to set her dining table with fresh wildflowers, playful tchotchkes and antique silverware. But it is her eclectic collection of art that really makes the space sing.

Stunning black-and-white photos with Claxton from their early days of dating hang front and center on her living room wall. She also has framed oil paintings of figs by artist Nicora Ganji, a print of a cow by a Cazenovia College dishwasher, a copy of the New York Times listing her cookbook “Cook Like a Rock Star” as a bestseller as well as a newspaper crossword puzzle that used her name as a clue.

“We just like to have fun here. This is a happy house,” the “Worst Cooks in America” host shared. Brian Zak/Page Six
Burrell’s art collection includes photographs, sculptures, paintings and newspaper clippings. Brian Zak for PageSix.com
She also designed the print of her paisley wallpaper. Brian Zak/Page Six

Burrell’s entryway wallpaper is especially unique considering she designed the print herself.

“When I had a restaurant in Cobble Hill on Smith Street [called Phil & Anne’s Good Time Lounge], I designed this wallpaper. It was sort of inspired by an orange paisley blouse that I had,” she remembered.

The former Institute of Culinary Education instructor had the print blown up to look like a “huge mural.” After her eatery closed in 2019, she repurposed the wallpaper to line the main hallway of her home.

The celebrity chef’s office is moody and quaint. Brian Zak/Page Six
She told us that the painting above her couch is like having another window in the small study. Brian Zak/Page Six

Jonathan Adler Lips Full Dose Needlepoint Throw Pillow

Revolve

Homesick New York Scented Candle

Amazon

Burrell’s favorite feature of the property is her “dreamy” outdoor space. She transformed the luxurious terrace into a garden oasis by installing artificial grass on the ground and draping ivy and purple wisteria along the walls.

“I planted some tomatoes and flowers and herbs, and I live out here, pretty much, in the summer,” she said. “I have my coffee out here every morning, and it just makes me so happy to spend time out here, and it’s great for entertaining and dinner parties.”

Burrell’s guest bedroom, used by her English husband’s son, Javier, draws inspiration from the British Invasion with psychedelic bedding and a large Union Jack flag painted on the wall.

“Every time I come in here, I want to start singing Beatles songs,” she enthused. “It looks very, like, ‘All You Need Is Love.'”

Burrell’s favorite part of her home is her spanning terrace. Brian Zak/Page Six
“I have my coffee out here every morning, and it just makes me so happy to spend time out here,” she said. Brian Zak/Page Six
Burrell hung wisteria and ivy around the outdoor space to create a garden-like atmosphere. Brian Zak/Page Six
“I live out here, pretty much, in the summer,” she said. Brian Zak/Page Six

The TV personality’s home office has a gothic-style sliding door, a diverse collection of light fixtures, jazzy furniture and a groovy window shade to brighten up the low-lit space.

The main attraction inside Burrell’s primary bedroom — aside from her cheery floral duvet — is her “infamous” Christian Louboutin shoe collection mounted on shelves surrounding her doorframe.

“They are beautiful,” she said of the pricey red-bottom stilettos. “I went through a phase a bunch of years ago.”

A large Union Jack flag is painted in the guest bedroom, where her stepson stays. Brian Zak/Page Six
A cool sliding ladder is used to reach all of the high storage spaces in her home. Brian Zak/Page Six
She custom-tiled her bathroom walls. Brian Zak/Page Six

“They’re art,” she added. “And every morning when I open my eyes and I look at all my beautiful shoes that I never have to wear, they make me very happy.”

Burrell isn’t just a collector of shoes: She has also amassed a bevy of sports jerseys that she keeps tucked inside her entryway closet.

“I’m a huge New York Rangers fan, so I do have a collection of jerseys,” she shared.

Burrell proudly displays her Christian Louboutin shoe collection on her bedroom wall. Charley Rowe for PageSix.com
“Every morning when I open my eyes and I look at all my beautiful shoes that I never have to wear, they make me very happy,” she enthused. Brian Zak/Page Six

Christian Louboutin Kate 85 Pumps

Mytheresa

The sports fanatic also has a plethora of New York Mets jerseys, which is no surprise considering she opened a food stand at Citi Field this summer called Anne Burrell’s Italian Eats.

“Oh yes. Don’t we love that?” she exclaimed.

The Italian eatery is located in section 102 of the stadium and serves up some of Burrell’s favorite recipes, including chicken parmesan heroes, pepperoni chip nachos and meatballs with ricotta and dill pickles.