Parents

Shanna Moakler couldn’t ‘compete’ with ‘narcissist’ Travis Barker’s parenting: ‘I gave up’

Shanna Moakler admitted that she and Travis Barker used to have a “competition” over who was the better parent to their kids — but she eventually “gave up” on trying to best him.

The former Playboy model said in a new interview with SiriusXM’s “Jeff Lewis Live” this week that she felt more heavily “scrutinized” than the Blink-182 rocker about how they cared for their children: Landon, Alabama and Barker’s stepdaughter with Moakler, Atiana De La Hoya.

“It is a topic that I don’t think a lot of people have really scratched the surface on and really have a clear understanding and it happens to both men and women. Both mothers and fathers,” she said on the podcast.

Shanna Moakler admitted she’s given up on competing with Travis Barker when it comes to parenting their kids. WireImage
“But I gave up, I was never really trying to compete. I gave that up a long time ago,” she explained. “I was like, ‘You win. Like you’re the winner.'” SiriusXM
The former Playboy model suggested the Blink-182 rocker was a “narcissist.” WireImage

“I think it really comes from like when you’re dealing with like a narcissist or you’re dealing with a controlling personality.”

Moakler, 49, acknowledged that Barker, 48, is a “very powerful famous person,” which made it hard to “compete on that level.”

“But I gave up, I was never really trying to compete. I gave that up a long time ago,” she explained. “I was like, ‘You win. Like you’re the winner.'”

“I think it really comes from like when you’re dealing with like a narcissist or you’re dealing with a controlling personality.” FilmMagic
Moakler said “the one thing” she and Barker always “agreed on” is their kids. Getty Images for Tommy Hilfiger

The former beauty pageant queen, who has made headlines for her controversial relationships since her divorce from Barker, told the podcast host that she doesn’t give “five f–ks” what anyone says or thinks about the decisions she’s made.

“I only care about my children,” she said. “My relationship with my children.”

Moakler said she and the famed drummer currently “don’t really have a friendship” but will “communicate” when it comes to any issues with their kids.

“The one thing we’ve always agreed on is our kids and the best interest of our children,” she said.

The former beauty pageant winner also said she’s now “happy” for the birth of Barker and wife Kourtney Kardashian’s son, Rocky. Instagram/@kourtneykardash
She previously had shaded the couple’s “f–king weird” marriage. kourtneykardash/Instagram

The model-actress’ tune toward Barker’s current wife, Kourtney Kardashian, and their blended families appears to have changed, as she told Lewis that she’s “happy” for the couple on the birth of their son, Rocky.

Earlier this year, Moakler — who was married to the dummer from 2004-2008 — publicly slammed the Poosh founder and Barker’s “f–king weird” marriage.

“I really don’t have anything positive to say about it,” she said on Rachel Uchitel’s podcast. “It’s not because I’m bitter, and I’m definitely not jealous.”