TV

Jamie-Lynn Sigler slams ‘healthy and perfect’ people for ‘abusing’ Ozempic: ‘It’s upsetting’

 

Jamie-Lynn Sigler is upset with the current Ozempic trend.

The actress, 42, called out “healthy and perfect” people for abusing the weight loss drug in the Tuesday episode of her and Christina Applegate’s “MeSsy” podcast, admitting that the current fad has left her “a little triggered.”

“I’m annoyed at myself that I’m admitting this,” said Sigler, who shares Applegate’s multiple sclerosis diagnosis. “It’s upsetting me. I wish I didn’t care.”

Jamie-Lynn Sigler said she’s “a little triggered” by the latest trend of “healthy and perfect” people taking Ozempic for weight loss. Good Morning America
“It’s upsetting me. I wish I didn’t care,” Sigler, 42, said on the latest episode of her and Christina Applegate’s “MeSsy” podcast. Getty Images for The Little Market

While she and Applegate opened up about their own experiences with body image issues and eating disorders, the “Sopranos” alum admitted that the drug has helped her friends who she’s seen “struggle with their weight for a very, very, very long time.”

“I’ve seen it give them a lot and I am so happy for them,” she said.

Sigler added, “I have also seen friends of mine, who were beautiful and healthy and perfect, abusing it, and it’s upsetting me.”

Sigler admitted that her friends who she’s seen struggle with their weight have been helped by the drug. FilmMagic
But, for those “abusing” the weight loss drug, she said it feels like there’s been a setback in the body positivity movement. Scott Gries/BRAVO via Getty Images

Sigler, who struggled with an eating disorder in the late ’90s and later became a spokesperson for the National Eating Disorders Association, also said that the rise in users taking the drug seemingly signifies a setback in the body positivity movement.

“It felt like we were on this road to solidifying body positivity, and every shape and size and color, and everyone’s looking the same now,” she said.

Applegate, 52, agreed with her co-host adding that use of the drug has left people “fading away.”

“People are fading away,” Applegate agreed. Good Morning America
Applegate and Sigler, who both share an MS diagnosis, also reflected on their past struggles with eating disorders on the episode. People Magazine

“For women out there listening, the thinner your face is, the older you look, okay?” she joked, but quickly cleaned it up. “Not that looking old is bad! Aging gracefully is beautiful.”

In 2022, the “Dead to Me” star revealed she’d gained 40 pounds and was unable to walk without a cane after receiving her MS diagnosis in 2021. During the podcast episode, Applegate also opened up about accepting the more recent changes in her body that stemmed from the disease.

“I don’t look in mirrors. I have writing all over my mirrors in my bathroom so that I don’t look in them,” she said. “Because I will like fall on the ground and cry. That’s how I feel now.”

Applegate says she dealt with anorexia as a teen star on “Married With Children.” ©20thCentFox/Courtesy Everett Collection
The actress, who revealed she gained over 40 pounds since being diagnosed with MS in 2021, now said “I don’t need to be thin.” Disney General Entertainment Content via Getty Images

Applegate also reflected on her previous experience with anorexia as a teen actress starring in “Married With Children,” but says now, “I don’t need to be thin.”

Instead, she’d rather fit into her old clothes again.

“I’m not working. I have a closet full of clothes that I can’t wear, and I have no money coming in. I don’t want to spend money on new clothes. I would just like to wear the ones that I already own,” she said.