Entertainment

Amy Schumer thinks internet trolls are ‘mad’ she’s not ‘prettier’ or ‘thinner’

She still feels pretty.

Amy Schumer is convinced that internet trolls don’t like what she has to say because they don’t like her appearance.

“I think they’re mad that I’m not thinner. I think they’re mad I’m not prettier and that I still feel like I have a right to speak,” the comedian said on Tuesday’s episode of Amanda Hirsch’s “Not Skinny But Not Fat” podcast.

“And I think that they don’t want any women to speak,” she added, asking, “What woman has ever opened her mouth and not been torn to shreds?”

Amy Schumer thinks internet trolls don’t like when she speaks her mind because of the way she looks. notskinnybutnotfat/Tiktok
“I think they’re mad that I’m not thinner. I think they’re mad I’m not prettier and that I still feel like have a right to speak,” Schumer said on Amanda Hirsch’s “Not Skinny But Not Fat” podcast. notskinnybutnotfat/Instagram
The actress said it’s typical for people to not want to hear what women have to say. notskinnybutnotfat/Instagram

The “Trainwreck” star, 42, called out the online haters for feeling “very comfortable s–tting” on her and having “a lot of passion” in voicing their opinions about her.

“I could focus on that and it doesn’t feel good when the whole internet’s mad at you,” Schumer said. “Don’t get me wrong — it does not feel good and I don’t wish that on anyone if they don’t deserve it.”

When asked if she has developed thick skin, the actress explained that she is used to being criticized after having a successful Hollywood career for so many years.

“What woman has ever opened her mouth and not been torn to shreds?” Schumer asked. RW/MediaPunch/Shutterstock

“It’s been a long time people have been coming for me,” Schumer said. “So yeah, it’s just about how I’m feeling about myself.”

She expressed her hope that she was “getting better at navigating” online negativity.

Last week, Schumer addressed social media users after several trolls commented on her face looking “puffier.”

The comedian said she has learned to deal with the haters over the years. RW/MediaPunch/Shutterstock

“Thank you so much for everyone’s input about my face!” she sarcastically wrote in a lengthy Instagram caption last week. “I’ve enjoyed feedback and deliberation about my appearance as all women do for almost 20 years. And you’re right it is puffier than normal right now.”

Schumer said she has “medical and hormonal things going on” and called out the double standard when it comes to scrutinizing the appearance of women versus men.

“I also believe a woman doesn’t need any excuse for her physical appearance and owes no explanation,” Schumer said. “But I wanted to take the opportunity to advocate for self love and acceptance of the skin you’re in.”

Last week she called out trolls for pointing out her “puffier face.” amyschumer/Instagram
“A woman doesn’t need any excuse for her physical appearance and owes no explanation,” she wrote on Instagram at the time. Getty Images for Good+Foundation

She added, “Like every other women/person some days I feel confident and good as hell and others I want to put a bag over my head.”


For more Page Six you love…


The author of “The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo” — who had her uterus and appendix removed due to her endometriosis struggle — said that regardless of what her critics think, she feels “strong and beautiful.”

Schumer has been candid about getting cosmetic surgery. Todd Owyoung/NBC
She also often posts very real images of herself online. Amy Schumer/Instagram

Schumer is known for embracing her body and often posts candid photos of herself on social media.

She has also been open about her cosmetic surgery, admitting that she has tried cheek fillers and underwent liposuction a few years after welcoming her son, Gene, with husband Chris Fischer in 2019 via C-section.

Schumer also faced the wrath of cancel culture last year when she was accused of cyberbullying Nicole Kidman.

Schumer shares son Gene with husband Chris Fischer. amyschumer/Instagram
She got liposuction after welcoming her child. Instagram

At the time, the “Inside Amy Schumer” star shared a photo of Kidman sitting stiffly at a tennis match, with the caption, “This how human sit.”

Netizens claimed Schumer was bullying the “Big Little Lies” star. However, she defended her post, saying, “Okay so the joke I was making was the way she was posed didn’t seem like how a human sits.”

She clarified, “I was not making fun of how she looks. Nicole Kidman is beautiful and one of the most incredible actors of all time.”