TV

Tarek El Moussa says he lived in halfway house after Christina Hall split: ‘I needed 24-hour care’

Tarek El Moussa said he lived in a halfway house after his 2016 split from Christina Hall because he “didn’t trust” himself “to be alone.”

“When my ex left me, I went to some soul-searching places,” he said on the “Jeff Fenster Show” podcast Monday. “I actually lived in a halfway house. This is my first time sharing that.” 

The “Flipping El Moussas” star, 42, then shared that he voluntarily entered the halfway house because he was skeptical about being alone.

“The reason I ended up there is because I didn’t know where to go and I needed 24-hour care,” Moussa added.

“It was pretty bad because I had lost everything, it felt like, overnight.”

The dad of three admitted that looking back, he wasn’t the “best husband,” but noted that there are “no excuses” for his previous behavior.

Tarek El Moussa reflected on how his failed marriage to Christina Hall affected him. fensterjeff/Instagram
“When my ex left me, I went to some soul-searching places,” he said on the “Jeff Fenster Show” podcast Monday. “I actually lived in a halfway house. This is my first time sharing that.”  Getty Images

“I was going through a lot at the time but my actions were not the best,” he said.

Moussa and Hall, 40, tied the knot in April 2009. The former “Flip or Flop” stars share daughter Taylor, 13, and son Brayden, 8.

In December 2016, the former couple announced they were separating after seven years of marriage.

The HGTV star said he “didn’t know where to go” and “needed 24-hour care.” Getty Images for MTV

“Like many couples, we have had challenges in our marriage. During this process, we are committed to our kids and being the best parents we can be,” they said in a statement at the time.


For more Page Six you love…


“We will continue to work through this process civilly and cooperatively, and plan to continue our professional life together.”

The following August, Hall officially filed for divorce from Moussa, citing “irreconcilable differences” as the reason for the split in court documents.

In December 2016, the former “Flip or Flop” co-stars announced they were separating after seven years of marriage. They share two kids together. Getty Images

Since their split, both real estate investors have moved on and expanded their broods.

Moussa married Heather Rae Young in October 2021 and they welcomed son Tristan in January 2023.

Meanwhile, Hall went on to marry Ant Anstead in December 2018. They welcomed son Hudson the following September.

Moussa has since wed “Selling Sunset” star Heather Rae Young. theheatherraeelmoussa/Instagram
Christina is now married to Josh Hall. thechristinahall/Instagram

In November 2020, the interior designer filed for divorce from the “Wheeler Dealers” host, 44, less than two months after they announced their separation.

Anstead is now happily dating actress Renée Zellweger.

Christina secretly married Josh Hall in a courthouse wedding in 2022. They do not share any kids together.