Celebrity News

‘My Sister’s Keeper’ child star Evan Ellingson dead at 35

Former child star Evan Ellingson died Sunday at home in Fontana, Calif., Page Six has confirmed. He was 35.

Ellingson, best known for his role in “My Sister’s Keeper,” was discovered in his bedroom, according to the coroner’s office death register, seen by Page Six.

The manner of death is listed as “pending.”

Officials later told TMZ, who first broke the news of his death, that there appears to be no foul play involved.

Ellingson’s father, Michael, explained to the outlet that his late son had been living at a sober house after having struggled with drug abuse.

Michael maintained that his son had been doing well and are in complete shock over his untimely passing.

In addition to starring opposite Cameron Diaz in the film adaptation of Jodi Picoult’s novel, Evan had a recurring role as Kyle Harmon in “CSI: Miami” for three years.

Evan Ellingson, who was best known for his role in “My Sister’s Keeper,” died Sunday. He was 35. FilmMagic
He appeared in the drama as Cameron Diaz’s teenage son. Gregory Pace/BEI/Shutterstock
His father told TMZ he had struggled with drug addiction but was living in a sober facility at the time of his passing. ©New Line Cinema/Courtesy Everett Collection

Evan, who began working in Hollywood when he was just 13, also appeared on “General Hospital,” “Titus,” “Mad TV,” “Bones,” “24” and more.


For more Page Six you love…


He also appeared in movies such as “Letters from Iwo Jima,” “Rules of the Game” and “Walk the Talk.”

“I never had the same [childhood] experience with my friends,” he told the Philippine Star in 2009.

He also had a recurring role on “CSI: Miami” playing Kyle Harmon. Patrick McMullan via Getty Images

“I never had more time with them; however, my childhood was a cool one. I was busy doing the things I love. I had no regrets because I found my passion for acting early on.”

He seemingly exited show business in 2010, when his acting credits ceased.

Evan’s brother and fellow actor, Austin, died of a drug overdose in 2008. Evan is survived by his daughter, Brooklynn, whom he welcomed that same year.