Music

Drake taking break from music to focus on health, stomach issues: ‘I need to get right’

Drake announced he is taking a break from music to focus on his health.

“I probably won’t make music for a little bit,” the “God’s Plan” rapper explained on “Table for One” on SiriusXM’s Sound 42 Friday morning.

“I’m gonna be real with you: I need to focus on my health, first and foremost. … Nothing crazy, but just, like, you know, I want people to be healthy in life.”

Drake, 36, revealed he has been having the “craziest problems” with his stomach “for years” and will now take the time to address them.

“I need to focus on my health, and I need to get right, and I’m going to do that,” he shared.

“So, I’ma lock the door in the studio for a little bit. I don’t even know what a little bit is,” he continued, adding that he might be gone for “maybe a year.”

Drake announced Friday that he’s taking a break from music. WireImage
The announcement came on the same day he released his new album, “For All the Dogs.” Drake / Instagram

Drake’s shocking announcement came on the same day he released his new album, “For All the Dogs,” a 23-song opus that features SZA, Bad Bunny, 21 Savage, J. Cole, Chief Keef and more — as well as a track that appears to diss Rihanna.

Leading up to the big release, the Grammy winner had been on tour performing for the likes of Kendall Jenner and Bad Bunny, who were spotted making out at his show in August.

During one tour stop in Brooklyn, however, Drake lashed out at an audience member who threw a vape onto his stage.

“I need to focus on my health, and I need to get right, and I’m going to that,” he shared. Instagram/@champagnepapi

“There’s no way you’re taking life serious if you think I’m gonna pick this vape up and vape with you at the f–king Barclays Center,” the “One Dance” performer said.

“You got some real life evaluating to do.”


For more Page Six you love…


Drake then kicked the vape around the stage before picking it up to reveal to the audience that it was “lemon mint” flavored.

The Grammy winner said his hiatus might last a year or slightly longer. Instagram/@champagnepapi

During the opening night of his It’s All a Blur tour on July 5, a fan threw their cellphone at the Canadian emcee as he performed a rendition of Ginuwine’s song “So Anxious.”

The projectile hit Drake in the arm, but he didn’t let it interrupt his performance.

With just a couple of tour dates left, Drake will likely use his hiatus to spend more time with his 5-year-old son, Adonis, whom he featured in a new music video for his song “8AM in Charlotte.”