Awards

‘Anxious’ Bebe Rexha may skip VMAs 2023 to avoid ‘people talking’ about her weight

Bebe Rexha is considering skipping the 2023 MTV Video Music Awards to avoid hearing more discourse surrounding her weight.

“I am so anxious and stressed about going on the red carpet and … people talking about my weight, because I am not really loving myself right now,” the “In the Name of Love” singer, 34, shared in a video posted to TikTok Monday night.

Rexha added at the time that she still “[didn’t] know” whether she’d attend the Tuesday night awards show. She admitted to her followers that she’s not “feeling so confident” and doesn’t feel “like the bad bitch” that she “usually is.”

“I do want to wear my dress and I do really want to go to celebrate my nomination and my friends’ nominations but I do feel like anxiety gets the best of me,” she shared.

“I guess everybody has these days and nobody ever feels perfect, and that’s why I wanted to make this video.”

However, Rexha also acknowledged that “everybody has these days and nobody ever feels perfect,” which is why she chose to speak about her anxiety on social media.

Bebe Rexha is considering skipping the VMAs to avoid hearing people talk about her weight gain. beberexha/TikTok

Rexha is set to present an award at the VMAs and was nominated for best collaboration for her and David Guetta’s song “I’m Good (Blue).”

Fans took to the comments section to share their encouragement for the singer, including one fan who wrote that Rexha is “such an inspiration” and “loved by many.”

“By showing up even through the struggle, you’re encouraging others to show up too. You’re beautiful inside and out ❤️❤️,” a second user wrote.

The “Say My Name” singer shared that she is “not feeling so confident” ahead of the awards show Tuesday night. beberexha/Instagram

“you slay no matter what and dont forget it,” a third added.


For more Page Six you love…


The singer has struggled with her body image over the past few years as she has navigated gaining weight while in the public eye.

Rexha is set to present an award and is also nominated for best collaboration for her song “I’m Good (Blue)” with David Guetta. Scott Gries/NBC via Getty Images

In May, Rexha shared that she had gained over 30 pounds due to polycystic ovary syndrome, explaining that the hormonal disorder caused her weight to jump “so quickly.”

“I literally jumped, like, 30 pounds so quickly, maybe a little bit more. But we gotta just be positive and just show people love,” she said during an appearance on “The Jennifer Hudson Show.”

While acknowledging that criticism is part of being in the spotlight, the Grammy winner also noted that the online discussion about her body and size took a toll on her.

The 34-year-old artist has been outspoken about her struggle with her body image over the past few years. beberexha/Instagram

“I was a lot thinner and I did gain some weight — that comes with the territory. I’m not mad about it because it is true, but when you see things like that, it does mess with you,” she said.

“You don’t know what somebody’s going through, what they’re going through in their life, so it kind of is tough.”

She continued, “But I feel like we’re in 2023 … we should not be talking about people’s weight.” 

In May, Rexha revealed that she had gained over 30 pounds due to a hormonal disorder. beberexha/Instagram

A month before, Rexha slammed TikTok for its algorithm suggesting “Bebe Rexha weight” as a search option on the popular social media app.

“Seeing that search bar is so upsetting. I’m not mad cause it’s true. I did gain weight. But it just sucks,” she wrote via Twitter, noting that has “always struggled with [her] weight.”

She added, “A bitch likes to eat.”