Movies
exclusive

Joey King gushes over upcoming wedding to ‘best friend’ Steven Piet: ‘I just love him so much’

Joey King is counting down the days until she says “I do” to fiancé Steven Piet.

“I can’t wait to just, like, marry Steven. I just love him so much. He’s the best person I know. He’s my best friend,” the actress exclusively gushed to Page Six in an interview promoting her work with Hill’s Pet Nutrition.

“So that’s that’s the best part to me… the life that I get after the wedding,” she continued. “Not just the wedding. I get to be married after the wedding to someone that is the coolest and greatest and most gentle and wonderful person I know.”

Piet, 30, popped the question to King, 24, during a desert getaway in February 2022, getting down on one knee with an elongated diamond ring estimated to be worth up to $150,000.

While the “Kissing Booth” star was tight-lipped about where and when her wedding will take place, she revealed that “it’s coming up” soon.

Joey King can’t wait to marry fiancé Steven Piet. joeyking/Instagram
“He’s the best person I know. He’s my best friend,” the actress told Page Six. Instagram/@joeyking

The bride-to-be recently celebrated her upcoming wedding with a bachelorette party in Napa Valley, Calif., which was planned by her sisters, Hunter and Kelli.

“Everything was planned to the minute. Like, there was no shortage of activities. [We] drank all the wine,” King told us, adding that going to Napa has always been “a big dream” of hers over the years.

“Getting so many people that are so important to me, to be able to have a special weekend like that, it’s so rare…. just soaking it all in and really appreciating being around all my faves was so great.”

The duo got engaged on Feb. 2, 2022, and their wedding is “coming up” soon, King told us. Instagram/@joeyking
The 24-year-old recently celebrated her bachelorette party in Napa, Calif. joeyking/Instagram

Aside from wedding planning, King also made headlines last month when she reunited with Taylor Swift for the premiere of the “I Can See You” music video.

Alongside co-star Taylor Lautner – and thousands of others – King watched the video live during the “Back to December” singer’s Eras Tour concert in Kansas City.

“It was so amazing … like, actually breathtaking. The way to describe it is – it was like getting in an ice bath,” she raved.

“When I walked on stage, my breath caught the energy of like 70,000 plus people, like putting all this amazing energy towards you. It was unbelievable. Such a niche experience to have.”

King recently starred in Taylor Swift’s “I Can See You” music video. Getty Images for TAS Rights Management
King watched the music video live during the singer’s Eras Tour concert in Kansas City last month. Getty Images for TAS Rights Management

The actress told us, however, that she wasn’t aware the appearance would be happening until right before showtime.


For more Page Six you love…


“I didn’t know I was going to be going on stage until that night when I got there,” she explained. “Taylor was like, ‘So I was, you know, trying to figure out when to bring you guys on stage.’ I was like, ‘What do you mean on stage?’ And she was like, ‘I didn’t tell you?’ I was like, ’No, you didn’t tell me.’”

Before the concert, she didn’t know Swift had plans to invite her on stage. Instagram/@joeyking
But the actress claimed the unexpected surprise was likely for the best. joeyking/Instagram

King furthered that it was an honor working alongside Swift, more than a decade after she starred in the music video for “Mean,” off the hitmaker’s original “Speak Now” album in 2010.

“It was truly incredible to be part of the ‘Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)’ era,” she shared. “Given that we had that history of me being a part of the ‘Mean’ music video from all those years ago, I feel so lucky to have been able to come back and to do this video. And the meaning of the video is so beautiful, too.”

Swift, 33, has spent the past few years re-recording her first released albums after her former manager, Scooter Braun, acquired the rights to her old music. She has since re-released 2008’s “Fearless,” 2010’s “Speak Now” and 2012’s “Red.”

She previously worked with the “You Belong With Me” hitmaker for Swift’s 2010 version of “Mean.” Instagram/@joeyking

“I just feel very lucky that she wanted to have me be part of this video that had such a powerful message for what she’s been doing in the last several years of claiming her music back,” she said. “It’s beautiful.”

Additionally, King also told us what it was like filming the intense action scenes alongside “Twilight” heartthrob Taylor Lautner.

“[It’s] like,’Come and bust ‘Speak Now Taylor’ out of the vaults and [get] her records back,” King said of the video’s special meaning.

The actress also worked alongside Taylor Lautner, whom she described as a “badass.” Instagram/@joeyking
The “Twilight” star performed his own stunts while on set. Instagram/@joeyking

The duo were seen in the music video fighting off a series of guards as Lautner, 31, knocked down several of them using a marital arts bo staff stick.

The “Summer ’03” star revealed that Lautner – whom she described as a “badass” and “lovely person” – performed his own stunts.

“Taylor Lautner is such a badass with his, like, martial arts stuff,” King said. “So getting to watch him get to do that stuff on set was was so great.”

King spoke to Page Six while volunteering at a Los Angeles animal shelter. Michael Simon/startraksphoto.com
She partnered up this month with Hill Nutrition for their “Clear the Shelters” campaign. Michael Simon/startraksphoto.com

King took the time to chat with Page Six while promoting her new partnership with Hill’s Pet Nutrition in honor of NBCUniversal Local’s “Clear the Shelters” campaign.

“I have rescue dogs at home and they enriched my life so much. So partnering with them felt so natural to me,” she told us.

“It’s incredible the work they’re doing. They have helped house over 13 million cats and dogs just from this program alone. They’re making such a difference. So I was honored when they wanted to partner with me.”

King recently adopted a 1-year-old pup named Fable.
Overtime, the actress has watched her pup blossom after she was initially “petrified” of everything. Instagram/@joeyking

The cause holds close to King’s heart as she owns two adopted pups, Jesse James and Fable, with her fiancé. Piet first adopted the eldest dog about 10 years ago.

“They’re my pride and joy! Fable is the newest member of our family. She’s been with us for about for months now [and] it’s amazing to watch her transformation,” she explained.

When we first adopted her, she was so, so timid. She was so petrified of other dogs… Everything was new to her,” King shared. “Watching her transformation… the personality she’s developing and how much she’s grown… It’s so rewarding seeing her go through these steps to becoming just a happier dog.”

The “Princess” actress further urged others to visit their local shelters to either adopt or volunteer as several reach full capacity.