Fashion

Nicole Kidman defends wearing ‘random, crazy’ Miu Miu miniskirt on Vanity Fair cover

Nicole Kidman stands by her decision to wear that polarizing Miu Miu miniskirt in a photo shoot for Vanity Fair’s 2022 Hollywood Issue.

“I make the most random, crazy choices,” the actress recently told Stellar magazine (via People). “I call them ‘teenage choices’ because I just don’t ever think of consequences.”

Otherwise, Kidman explained, she would “get scared or worried.”

The “Nine Perfect Strangers” star, instead, simply thought, “Oh, I’m going to wear that; it reminds me of my school uniform. … I’d love to [wear] that.”

Nicole Kidman reflected on her “random” and “crazy” Vanity Fair cover in a Miu Miu miniskirt. Maurizio Cattelan and Pierpaolo
The actress called the daring look one of her “teenage choices.” Dave Benett/Getty Images for Paramount+
“I just don’t ever think of consequences,” she explained. Getty Images

Kidman, 56, shared that she does not “really want to know” about the online backlash stirred up by her pleated bra top, low-slung skirt, knee socks and loafers in February 2022.

“It will stop me doing what I want to do,” she said. “I really try to stay free in the choices because otherwise, before you know it, you’re just closed off and you can’t step anywhere.”

The Oscar winner acknowledged that “nobody else” chose the daring look and she takes “responsibility” for it.

The Oscar winner made headlines for her fashion in February 2022. Stuart Hardy/ABACAPRESS.COM/Shutterstock

“It was fun,” she recalled. “That was my choice. And yeah, I own it. I’m accountable. Whatever.”

Kidman expressed a similar sentiment while standing by the ensemble in June 2022, telling Vogue Australia that she “begged” to wear it despite being offered “another outfit” to pose in.


For more Page Six Style ..


“I was like, ‘No, no, I like this one! Am I allowed to wear that?'” she said. “And [the stylist] Katie Grand, who’s just fantastic, was on Zoom, and Katie was like, ‘You’re willing to wear that?!’”

Kidman, pictured here with husband Keith Urban, defended the cover four months later. FilmMagic
Kidman admitted that she “begged” to wear the ensemble. Dave Benett/Getty Images for Paramount+

The “Big Little Lies” star noted, “I did walk away … thinking, ‘What was I thinking?! That was ridiculous! What were you doing, Nicole?!’ And then I went, ‘Eh, oh well!’”

Kidman added that she likes “the idea of being bold and not fitting into a box.”

The “Boy Erased” star is in good company, as Hailey Bieber and Zendaya have both also rocked the set designed by Miuccia Prada for Miu Miu’s spring/summer 2022 collection.