TV

Kristin Davis snubs Charlotte York’s marriage desires: ‘It’s not my thing’

She’d say “I Don’t.”

Kristin Davis has no intention of ever tying the knot �� unlike her twice-married “Sex and the City” character Charlotte York.

“We have very different lifestyles, you know?” Davis, 58, said of Charlotte — who was famously desperate to be a perfect wife throughout the HBO series — on Tuesday’s episode of Clea Shearer and Joanna Teplin’s podcast “Best Friend Energy.”

Davis continued, “I’m not married, I have never been married, it’s not my thing, I was never focused on it.”

Kristin Davis doesn’t see eye to eye with her “Sex and the City” character Charlotte York when it comes to marriage. Sony Podcasts
“I’m not married, I have never been married, it’s not my thing, I was never focused on it,” she said on the “Best Friend Energy” podcast. Sony Podcasts
Davis explained that she is very different from her “Sex and the City” character Charlotte York, who was married twice and loves being a wife. HBO
Charlotte ultimately marries her divorce lawyer from her first wedding, Harry Goldenblatt. MAX

When Teplin noted that Charlotte’s “whole thing” was about being married, Davis joked, “That took some acting, let me tell you. It really did.”

But Davis admitted that she still finds common ground with the preppy friend of Carrie Bradshaw (Sarah Jessica Parker), Samantha Jones (Kim Cattrall), and Miranda Hobbs (Cynthia Nixon.)

“The essence of my personality is the same [as Charlotte’s] because I think after 25 years, like, how could it not be, you know what I mean?” Davis, who revives the role of Charlotte in the “SATC” reboot “And Just Like That,” said.

“The essence of my personality is the same [as Charlotte’s] because I think after 25 years, like, how could it not be, you know what I mean?” Davis, who revives her role as Charlotte in the “SATC” reboot “And Just Like That,” said. GC Images

While she never plans on walking down the aisle herself, the actress said that one of her favorite Charlotte moments in the show was when she married on-screen husband Harry Goldenblatt (Evan Handler).


For more Page Six you love…


“I loved my first wedding,” she laughed. “I’m not really a wedding girl but, you know, Charlotte loved it so I loved it.”

But Davis did note that she wasn’t a fan of the Vera Wang wedding gown Charlotte wore while saying “I Do.”

The actress is a mom of two adopted children. ©Warner Bros/Courtesy Everett Collection

“I must have tried on 35 Vera Wang dresses… we tried on every Vera Wang dress that existed,” Davis recalled. “The poof one won and it was just like such a weird thing because it’s not my thing at all. Like I would not wear that dress, if I did get married.”

She furthered, “No, I would not be wearing that veil. I wouldn’t be wearing any of it. But I was devoted to it. Do you know what I mean? Like a character seeps in you and you love it because she loves it.”

In the show, Charlotte met Harry when he was working as her divorce lawyer following her failed marriage to Trey MacDougal (Kyle MacLachlan).

Davis and Liev Schreiber reportedly dated in the 2000s. FilmMagic
She also dated Aaron Sorkin for a few months in 2012. WireImage
Davis and Baldwin were briefly romantically linked. WireImage

Davis keeps her current love life under wraps, though she previously dated Liev Schreiber, Alec Baldwin and Aaron Sorkin.

She was also rumored to be dating Steve Martin in 2005, but Davis denied that they ever dated during a 2022 appearance “Watch What Happens Live! with Andy Cohen.”

Davis adopted her daughter Gemma Rose, 12, in 2011 and her son Wilson, 5, in 2018.