Parents

Hilaria Baldwin on 26-year age gap with husband Alec: ‘Sometimes I’m his mommy’

Hilaria Baldwin may have seven children, but she’s actually a mom to eight.

The wife of actor Alec Baldwin, who is 26 years his junior, revealed the couple’s bizarre dynamic amid criticism of their large age gap.

“Am I his mommy? Sometimes I’m his mommy. Sometimes,” the yoga instructor told Romper in an interview published Wednesday.

“At the beginning of our relationship, everyone was like, ‘She must have daddy issues because she’s married to somebody older,'” Hilaria explained. “But it’s actually the opposite.”

The 39-year-old met Alec, 65, in 2011, and they married in June 2012.

Hilaria Baldwin revealed the bizarre dynamic between her and her husband, Alec Baldwin, amid their 26-year age gap. Instagram
“Sometimes I’m his mommy,” she said. Hilaria Baldwin/Instagram

The duo then welcomed daughter Carmen, 9, son Rafael (“Rafa”), 7, son Leonardo (“Leo”), 6, son Romeo, 5, son Eduardo (“Edu”), 2, daughter María Lucía (“Marilu”), 2, and daughter Ilaria, who will be 9 months on Thursday.

Somehow, Hilaria manages to give them all two baths a day — one in the morning and one before bed.

“They’ll literally just line up,” the Boston native, born Hillary Lynn Hayward-Thomas, told the magazine. “And we go 1, 2, 3, really fast, hair, shampoo, in and out. I spray them.”

Hilaria was born in 1984, the same year Baldwin (left) filmed “Sweet Revenge.” CBS via Getty Images

“When I was younger, I read ‘Cheaper by the Dozen,'” she continued. “And the only thing I remember about the book is that they figured out the most efficient way to use a bar of soap.”


For more Page Six you love…


The podcaster went on to say that she “love[s] giving birth” and likened the experience to “going down a water slide that’s really scary.”

“And then you get to the bottom, and you’re like, ‘I want to do this again,'” she claimed.

The couple married in June 2012 and went on to welcome seven children. hilariabaldwin/Instagram

(She delivered six of her kids naturally, while Marilu arrived via surrogate following two miscarriages.)

After a decade of trial and error, Hilaria has become a breastfeeding pro, too.

“Right after I have a baby, I pump all the time, but only for three minutes, just to stimulate production,” she shared. “At this point, I freeze about 30 to 50 ounces a day on top of feeding [Ilaria]. … I have four gigantic freezers for milk.”

Hilaria said she gives them all two baths a day. Victor Demarchelier

But Hilaria feels that the “joke’s on [her] because this baby doesn’t really like bottles so much.”

“And I’m like, ‘Well somebody’s going to drink this. I made it. You’re going to drink it!'” she quipped.

Perhaps her eldest, Alec, will volunteer.