Parents

Serena Williams breaks pregnancy news to daughter Olympia: ‘Mommy, you’re fat’

Serena Williams’ daughter, Olympia, is ready to be a big sister.

The tennis superstar and her husband, Alexis Ohanian, shared an adorable video of their 5-year-old finding out she’s going to be a big sister.

“Olympia does not know right now that I am pregnant,” Williams, 41, said in the clip, which was posted to her YouTube channel Tuesday.

“But she did call me fat and then she got really stressed out,” she joked. “She was like, ‘Mommy, you’re fat.’ I try not to take it personal ’cause I’m, like, super into fitness, but I’m like, ‘Um, am I?.’”

The expectant parents sat Olympia down the day of the 2023 Met Gala, before Williams excitedly revealed the news to the world.

Serena Williams revealed her pregnancy to daughter Olympia in a cute clip. YouTube/@SerenaWilliams
She and husband Alexis Ohanian shared a video of the little one’s sweet reaction. YouTube/@SerenaWilliams

“Remember how you’ve been praying for a little sister or brother?” Serena asked her mini-me.

“Well, we went to the doctor, and it turns out I’m not getting fat but I have a baby in my belly.”

Olympia responded, “Are you kidding me?” before hugging her mom and exclaiming, “Oh my god, I’m so excited.”

“She was like, ‘Mommy, you’re fat,’” Williams recalled of the funny conversation. YouTube/@SerenaWilliams
The tennis champ revealed her pregnancy to the world at the 2023 Met Gala. WWD via Getty Images

The youngster then ran out of the frame squealing, before tripping over herself off-camera.

“I’m OK,” she yelled to her parents.

Her proud dad then explained, “You’ve got to do a lot of work getting ready to be a big sister.”

Williams debuted her baby bump in a figure-hugging black gown. The Hollywood Reporter via Getty Images

Hours after the video was filmed, Williams debuted her baby bump during fashion’s biggest night out in a black Gucci gown with sheer sleeves and a white tulle skirt.

The 23-time Grand Slam champ accessorized the curve-hugging maternity ensemble with a layered pearl necklace and matching headband.

She snapped some solo pics on the Met Gala red carpet, along with some beside her Reddit co-founder husband, who cut a stylish figure in a classic tux.

The couple welcomed their first child in 2017. Instagram/@serenawilliams

“I’m feeling good. I can breathe. I can stop not hiding,” she told reporters while making her way inside the Metropolitan Museum of Art, joking about her big plans to “not drink.”

Page Six later revealed the expectant mom attended the Miami Grand Prix, where she was seen chatting to Karlie Kloss after they both revealed their pregnancies at the Met Gala.

Williams and Ohanian welcomed their first child in September 2017, and said “I do” that November.