Parents
exclusive

Hoda Kotb’s daughter Hope still has ‘long road’ to recovery after health scare

Hoda Kotb’s daughter Hope has not made a full recovery, but she is on her way.

“She’s doing better. There’s still a long road to go, but she’s doing much better,” the “Today” show co-anchor, 58, exclusively told Page Six Monday night at the Webby Awards, where Wilmer Valderrama presented her with Best Interview/Talk Show Podcast for “Making Space with Hoda Kotb.”

“We’re making great progress,” she added. “This kid is full of healing light, as I say to her.”

Kotb’s 3-year-old was hospitalized in February, forcing the television host to take a two-week leave of absence from the morning program.

So far, she has kept the details surrounding her youngest child’s “really scary” hospitalization to herself.

When asked how she’s been holding up amid the stress, Kotb told us, “It is a lot, but I have a good group with me helping me, and I think I’ve learned to, like, sometimes you gotta roll with it.

“You gotta trust and kind of surrender, and that’s kind of how I’ve been going through it. But she’s doing a great job.”

Hoda Kotb told Page Six that her youngest daughter, 3-year-old Hope, still has a “long road” ahead of her after her lengthy hospitalization. Nathan Congleton/NBC via Getty Images
“We’re making great progress,” the “Today” show co-host added. “This kid is full of healing light, as I say to her.” Instagram/hodakotb

The broadcast journalist — who shares Hope and Haley, 6, with ex-fiance Joel Schiffman — made sure to note that although her “priorities have always been both girls,” Hope’s health scare has helped put things into perspective.


For more Page Six you love…


“It does remind you when you get lost in a minute, it’s like, ‘Wait, I was worried about what? That mattered because of why?'” she shared.

“So I’ve learned to sort of realize that there are things in life that are much, much, much more important than the little things.”

The broadcast journalist said she felt “very, very blessed” to have spent Mother’s Day with Hope and her eldest daughter, 6-year-old Haley. Instagram/hodakotb
Kotb made sure to note that although her “priorities have always been both girls,” Hope’s health scare has helped put things into perspective. Helen Healey/NBC via Getty Images

As for how she celebrated Mother’s Day on Sunday, Kotb gushed, “I spent time with my two little girls. I feel very, very blessed and grateful to have both of them home and happy and healthy.”

Despite her family’s recent trials, the media personality has not ruled out adopting more children.

“You never know, girl!” she said to us. “The heart’s ability to expand is beyond measure. That’s what I’ve heard.”