Celebrity News
exclusive

Jenna Dewan praises Allison Holker’s strength following Stephen ‘tWitch’ Boss’ death

Allison Holker, Jenna Dewan, Weslie Fowler and Derek Hough
Jenna Dewan praised Allison Holker while speaking to Page Six at the 2023 Mental Health Gala in Los Angeles Friday night.Getty Images for National Alliance on Mental Illness Westside Los Angeles

Jenna Dewan is praising fellow mom Allison Holker for the strength she’s shown her family in light of husband Stephen “tWitch” Boss’ tragic death by suicide.

“I love Allison and I love her family. Life is going to be hard and there’s going to be really challenging [times]. We’re all going to go through tragedy, we’re all going to go through these moments of darkness,” the “Step Up” star exclusively told Page Six on the red carpet at the 2023 Mental Health Gala in West Hollywood, Calif., Friday night.

“Going through all of that while also being a mother really hits home to me and I am very protective of her and her family,” she added.

“I want them to feel how loved and supported they are. Not just by me and people who know them, but this entire world who was touched by ‘tWitch’ and is touched by Allison and her family.”

Holker received the “Heart of a Champion” award in honor of her late husband, Stephen “tWitch” Boss. Paul Archuleta/Getty Images
“I want [the Boss family] to feel how loved and supported they are,” Dewan told Page Six on the red carpet. Getty Images for National Alliance on Mental Illness Westside Los Angeles

Dewan, 42, has been close with the family for years, as she and Boss crossed paths in the dance industry and were both part of the iconic “Step Up” franchise. Additionally, the dancer’s ex-husband, Channing Tatum, starred alongside Boss in “Magic Mike XXL.”

“I loved ‘tWitch’ so much and I’ve been inspired by him my entire life. We’ve had a real shared kinship in this business and this walk of life,” recalled Dewan, who shares daughter Everly, 9, and son Callum, 3, with Tatum and fiancé Steve Kazee, respectively.

“We had some funny moments. I remember when he was filming ‘Magic Mike’ and that dance at the end is very hilarious and racy, but it was filmed within a huge audience. We had a few hilarious moments in between takes where he and I would just bust out laughing. Like, the things that dancers do … the audacity of things we’ve done! It’s just a way of life and he was so funny, open-hearted and game to do it all.”

Dewan’s ex-husband, Channing Tatum, was also close pals with the “So You Think You Can Dance” alum, who died in December 2022. Channing Tatum/Intsagram
The two starred together in “Magic Mike XXL.” Warner Bros

Dewan also told us she was proud to step out to honor Boss’ legacy – and to help shed a light on mental well-being during Mental Health Awareness Month.

“[We’re here] to erase the stigma and understand that you can struggle while also being strong,” she said. “So we’re doing what we can to share that and shed light on that subject.”

As for Holker, she attended Friday night’s event with her 14-year-old daughter, Weslie. The two took the stage to accept the National Alliance of Mental Illness Westside Los Angeles’ “Heart of a Champion Award” from Dewan and Derek Hough.

Holker took the stage during Friday night’s gala to pay tribute to her late husband. Instagram/@allisonholker
“I want to say a special thank you to my friends for just being the most incredible people,” she said. Instagram/@allisonholker

“Thank you, Derek and Jenna, for coming out and helping to present this award to our family and our beloved Stephen. Thank you to NAMI West LA for this incredible honor and we promise to continue to move from love and joy forever and always, and to continue to inspire and lead and teach and to grow,” said Holker, who shares two other children – Maddox, 7, and Zaia, 3 – with Boss.

“I want to say a special thank you to my friends for just being the most incredible people and supporting us during this special time. And to all of you for opening your arms and welcoming us here and making us feel so safe. And Weslie, I’m so proud of you, and I love you. Thank you.”

Earlier this month, Holker, 35, broke down in tears while detailing the “really hard” talks she’s had to have with her children following her husband’s tragic death last December at the age of 40.

In addition to Holker’s daughter Weslie (whom Boss adopted), the dancers welcomed two children together: Maddox and Zaia. Instagram
The “Dancing With the Stars” alum promised to “protect” and “guide” her kids in a post shared to Instagram in March. Instagram

For more Page Six you love…


“It’s honestly something I wouldn’t wish for anybody. It’s really hard, but if I’ve learned anything, it’s that communication is key,” the “Dancing With the Stars” alum told Hoda Kotb on the “Today” show.

“To us, Daddy’s in the stars. So we can go outside and talk to him whenever we want. … They just ask, ‘When is Daddy coming back?’ and that’s a really hard one,” she continued.

“[But] I don’t really have any other choice but to be strong. Now, they still see me have my highs and lows because there’s a lot of it. All I can do is just try to move forward.”

“I will be here for you every step of the way,” she wrote. Instagram/@allisonholker

Holker also penned a touching message to her kids via Instagram in March, promising to always “protect” and “guide” them through life’s ups and downs.

“My loves we are stronger than you could ever imagine. And we will stand strong together as a unit, and find the courage to hold each other up,” she wrote in part.

“I will be here for you every step of the way … I will be a listening ear, a shoulder to cry on, I will have mom jokes ready for when you need a good laugh. The love and light inside our hearts will still shine. I love you forever and always. Mommy.”

If you or someone you know is affected by any of the issues raised in this story, call or text the Suicide & Crisis Lifeline at 988.