Music

‘Terrified’ Taylor Swift fan thought she’d be ‘Travis Scott fatality’ at Eras show

A Taylor Swift fan compared the pop star’s hours-delayed, rainy concert in Nashville to Travis Scott’s fatal Astroworld Festival.

A woman named Andrea posted a video on TikTok Tuesday in which she dramatically detailed her experience at Sunday night’s show, which was the third and final Nissan Stadium stop on Swift’s Eras Tour.

“I love Taylor Swift with all my heart. I’m one of her biggest fans,” she prefaced the clip, which has racked up more than 1 million views.

“But I felt uncomfortable, unsafe and terrified at some points,” Andrea went on, referencing fans being forced to shelter in place for more than three hours due to severe weather.

The fan, who had VIP tickets, said she had to go “underneath the stadium seats where the concessions are.”

A Taylor Swift fan compared the pop star’s rainy show to the Astroworld tragedy that claimed 10 lives. TikTok / @fantastic__fiction
The pop star’s show was delayed several hours due to extreme weather. Getty Images for TAS Rights Management

“At first, it was a little crowded, but it was fine. But for three and a half of those four hours, I was standing shoulder to shoulder with nowhere to go. … I’m 5 feet tall, so everyone was towering over me,” she recalled.

“It got really tight in there. I literally thought it was going to be, like, another Travis Scott fatality. I’ve never been so scared for my life. I couldn’t leave. I couldn’t move. There was nowhere to go.”


For more Page Six you love…


In November 2021, 10 people died from compression asphyxia after chaos and a “crowd crush” broke out at Scott’s annual music festival in Houston.

The TikTok user, who seemingly turned off her comments after facing backlash for the extreme comparison, claimed security at the venue was being “aggressive,” and paramedics were struggling to get through the crowd before Swift, 33, finally took the stage around 10:30 p.m.

“Multiple people are dropping left and right and fainting,” she remembered.

Scott’s 2021 music festival killed 10 people. AP
Other fans slammed the TikTok user for likening the event to Astroworld. via REUTERS

“When it was showtime, chaos erupted on the floor. My partner almost got drug [sic] under because of the crowd surges.

“By showtime, I was literally in tears and couldn’t enjoy the show. When lighting started hitting, I had to get out of there because I was not going to be in another crowd situation.”

Other fans took to the comments section of a separate TikTok video to react.

Swift performed for hours in the pouring rain in Nashville. Getty Images for TAS Rights Management

“No way she compared it to the Travis Scott concert,” one person wrote, while another added, “as someone who was actually at astroworld 2021, she could literally never imagine what that was like. as soon as she made the comment I had to stop.”

A third person chimed in, “why is she complaining about the weather like she didnt purchase tickets to an outdoor venue LMAO.”

Others were more empathetic, including one fellow concertgoer.

“I know people are calling her dramatic, but I was there on Sunday and it did get really bad at some points when they finally let us in,” the user wrote.