Beauty

Diane von Furstenberg, 76, finds ‘strength’ in selfies, ‘could not feel any younger’

Diane von Furstenberg selfie
Diane von Furstenberg opens up about aging in this week’s episode of the “Wiser Than Me” podcast.therealdvf/Instagram

Age is nothing but a number for this designer.

Diane von Furstenberg shared her youthful outlook in a new episode of Julia Louis Dreyfus’ podcast, “Wiser Than Me,” yesterday, saying that although she’s 76, she “really should be 300.”

“In that life, in that short life, even though I am 76, I have piled up so much that I certainly could not feel any younger,” she says in the interview. “I am who I am.”

The fashion legend shares that she loves being her age because, “I love being alive. That’s how long I have been alive, so yes.”

“I would change the word aging and say living,” she says, suggesting that people ask “how long have you lived” instead of “how old are you?”

She opens up about her incredible life in this week’s episode of the “Wiser Than Me” podcast. therealdvf/Instagram

Getting older, in fact, is something von Furstenberg has always looked forward to doing.

“I never wanted to be a little girl, I always wanted to be a woman,” she says.

As for her “inspirational” swimsuit mirror selfies, von Furstenberg says, “I have a tendency to think that, at least in my case, when I look at myself in the mirror, I find my strength there.”

The designer continues, “Somehow, when I look at myself in the mirror, I like it and then sometimes I see a picture of me and I say, ‘Oh my God, that’s not how I feel like.'”

She posed with a photo of herself from 50 years ago at a Brussels museum last month. therealdvf/Instagram
The designer rocked oversized shades on a trip to Venice, a place she holds close to her heart. therealdvf/Instagram
“Selfie at 75 ? Trying to own it and 2 hours of daily swimming helps !” she captioned this photo. therealdvf/Instagram

For more Page Six Style ..


The philanthropist and author — who recently pointed out that both Kate Middleton and Meghan Markle once wore her Zarita dress — tells the podcast that women should keep staples in their closet that reflect their true selves, but “a black turtleneck” is one thing everyone should invest in.

Aside from a turtleneck, the designer also of course talked about her iconic wrap dress, saying, “I created the wrap dress, but truly, it’s the dress that created me because it gave me my freedom, it gave me my independence.”

Although the DVF founder says that she doesn’t have a small waist so the style doesn’t actually suit her, Louis Dreyfuss shares that von Furstenberg’s famous dress was “the first sort of fashiony thing that I wore that made me feel like ‘oh I don’t mind my body so much.'”