Celebrity News

Andrew LLoyd Webber’s son Nicholas in hospice amid ‘ghastly’ cancer battle

Andrew Lloyd Webber shared his son Nicholas has been moved to hospice care as he continues to battle “ghastly” stomach cancer and pneumonia.

“I want to thank you for the outpouring of messages of support for my son, Nick. He’s now been moved into a hospice and he’s battling away,” the famed composer said in an Instagram video.

“I think he’s over the worst of this first bout of pneumonia that he’s got as a result of his cancer, which is just ghastly,” Webber continued.

“We’re all here and the family here has gathered around, and it was the right place for us all to be I think.”

Andrew Lloyd Webber shared his son Nicholas has been moved to hospice care amid his stomach cancer battle. Instagram/ Andrew Lloyd Webber
The famed composer also shared that his son developed pneumonia. Alan Davidson/Shutterstock

Webber, 75, concluded his message by saying he was leaving to visit his 43-year-old son and would pass along the well wishes and prayers from his fans and followers.

The “Phantom of the Opera” composer first shared Nicholas’ devastating diagnosis last weekend, telling fans Nicholas was “critically ill” and he’d have to miss the opening night of his new Broadway musical, “Bad Cinderella,” in New York City because of his son’s declining health.


For more Page Six you love…


“I therefore have not been able to attend the recent previews of ‘Bad Cinderella’ and as things stand, I will not be able to cheer on its wonderful cast, crew and orchestra on Opening Night this Thursday,” Webber continued.

“We are all praying that Nick will turn the corner. He is bravely fighting with his indomitable humor, but at the moment my place is with him and the family.”

The “Phantom of the Opera” composer shared the devastating diagnosis last week. Alan Davidson/Shutterstock

Webber shares Nicholas, who also works as a composer, with ex-wife Sarah Hugill.

Nicholas previously revealed he dropped the “Lloyd bit” of his surname in an attempt to be judged on his own merit.

“I got some stuff on the radio, so I thought, ‘OK, I’m obviously not a complete idiot.’ Then I thought, ‘Hang on, if other people are prepared to work with me without the surname, then maybe I should just get on with it.’”