Celebrity News

Jessica Simpson celebrates dad’s birthday with family photo

Jessica Simpson, Ashlee Simpson, Joe Simpson and Tina Simpson.
Jessica Simpson shared a photo of her family celebrating her dad Joe’s 65th birthday.jessicasimpson/Instagram

Jessica Simpson expressed her unconditional love for her dad, Joe Simpson, while celebrating his 65th birthday with family.

“My beautiful family together forevermore,” the singer, 42, captioned a family pic with her dad, mom Tina Ann Drew and sister Ashlee Simpson via Instagram on Monday.

”I am proud of us for all that we have accomplished unconventionally with pure honesty.”

Jessica added, “I love each of you exactly as you are…unconditionally, completely, fully, entirely, and endlessly.”

The “Take My Breath Away” singer also shared a photo where she posed with her dad, her husband, Eric Johnson, and their 10-year old daughter, Maxwell. She and Johnson, 43, also share 9-year-old son Ace and 3-year-old daughter Birdie.

“Happy 65th Birthday Dad!!! Bein’ loved by you has given purposeful soul to my life 2/18/2023,” Jessica concluded.

Joe responded to the sweet post by commenting, “The family!!!”

Jessica and Joe also posed for photos with the singer’s husband, Eric Johnson, and their eldest daughter, Maxwell. jessicasimpson/Instagram

Fans of the pop star also flocked to the comments section of her post to send along their own birthday wishes to her dad.

“Love seeing you all together! Happy Bday papa Joe!” one person wrote.

“Such a beautiful family. I love how your parents still get along and put you all first. ❤️,” a second wrote.

1 of 5
Jessica Simpson posing in front of a house with her dad Joe Simpson.
The singer has a complicated relationship with her dad.jessicasimpson/Instagram
Jessica Simpson in a selfie with Joe Simpson.
She opened up about her parents’ divorce in her memoir, “Open Book.” jessicasimpson/Instagram
Advertisement
Jessica Simpson smiling in a black and white photo with her dad Joe Simpson.
Her dad was her former manager. jessicasimpson/Instagram
Advertisement

“So happy for all of you! God bless!🙌 Forgiveness is such a beautiful thing as it leads to peace! Amen!🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻♥️♥️♥️♥️,” added another.

Several trolls also flooded the post with criticism, calling their family photos “awkward” and even comparing the Simpsons to “wax figures.” But Jessica’s defenders called out the haters and bashed their nasty words.

“The comments. My goodness 😳. There sure is a lot of hatred in this world. You all look beautiful 😍,” one person wrote.

“I can NOT believe the comments on hear[sic]. you people are the MOST unkind people ever.. complete bullies. She’s posting something very sweet about her family and that’s all you got? You all need to go take a look in the mirror! Go get some Jesus!!” another agreed.

Jessica has a complicated relationship with her father, who finalized his divorce from her mother back in 2013 after 34 years of marriage.

Joe finalized his divorce from Tina Ann Drew in 2013. Michael Caulfield Archive

The singer revealed in her tell-all memoir “Open Book” in 2020 that her father “betrayed” her mom after cheating rumors swirled for years.

“In August [2012], my mother discovered that my father had betrayed their marriage, just as she and I thought things were turning around for them,” she wrote.

“She had just told me what a nice time they had together on their anniversary, and she thought maybe they had turned a corner. I thought so, too. When she confronted him, my dad began calling me, and I would not pick up.”

1 of 6
Jessica Simpson, Ashlee Simpson and their mom Tina.
Jessica shared that her dad had “betrayed” her mom. jessicasimpson/Instagram
Jessica Simpson and her mom Tina.
Jessica wrote that her dad denied any cheating accusations. tinasimpsonofficial/Instagram
Advertisement
Jessica Simpson, Ashlee Simpson and their mom Tina.
Tina and Joe share daughters Jessica and Ashlee. jessicasimpson/Instagram
Jessica Simpson, Ashlee Simpson and their mom Tina.
Jessica’s mom is 63 years old. tinasimpsonofficial/Instagram
Advertisement

Jessica added that her dad denied the accusations and was in “full denial mode.” Her relationship with her father also crumbled when she had to fire him as her manager multiple times.

“The worst part was that I had [to] do it five times because he would not accept it,” she said. “Too often I was circling back to people, only to find that Dad had made some move without telling me. People agreed to bad terms, thinking that was what I had demanded when, really, I had no idea. It left a lot of hurt feelings I didn’t know existed, and I knew I had to make the move to go forward with ownership of my own career.”

Jessica shares three kids with Johnson: Maxwell, Ace and Birdie. jessicasimpson/Instagram

However, Jessica also wrote about the importance of accepting her dad for who he is.

Just days before her 2014 wedding to Johnson, Jessica said that her dad asked if he could bring his friend Jonathan, “a young model he often shot for his new photography business.”

“I reminded myself that I needed to accept my father for who he was as he worked it out in real-time,” she wrote.

When asked about her father’s sexuality after her book dropped, Jessica told the Los Angeles Times, “That’s not something we talk about. That’s not my story to tell.”