Celebrity News

Armie Hammer rape accuser brands him ‘manipulative’: He’s trying to ‘shut me up’

The woman who has accused Armie Hammer of rape her has now branded him “manipulative” after he broke his silence for the first time last week.

Effie Angelova, 26, accused Hammer of “violently” raping her and abusing her “mentally, emotionally and sexually” in 2017 when she was 20 years old.

Despite claims he has cannibalism fantasies, Hammer, 36, told Air Mail there was no criminal wrongdoing in his four-year relationship with her.

Taking to her Instagram Story Monday, Angelova claimed the “Call Me By Your Name” actor is now doing whatever it takes to “evoke sympathy” from the public.

Angelova said Hammer’s alleged abusive behavior “had affected not only me but my family,” after claiming that the actor “repeatedly slammed her head against a wall.”

Angelova
Effie Angelova recounts her traumatic experience with Hammer in a tearful Zoom press conference with lawyer, Gloria Allred. BACKGRID

Hammer’s accuser said the actor “was just worried that I was telling my family.”

To back up her claims, Angelova posted a series of screenshots of texts the actor allegedly sent her at the time.

“This all sounds intense,” one alleged message from Hammer reads. “I’m sorry you are going through all of this and I’m sorry your parents have gotten so involved. And I’m sorry your parents are so hurt seeing you hurt.”

“I am not really sure how to respond or move forward,” another text read. “Other than to say I’m sorry, I completely understand why you are upset and your parents are.”

1 of 7
Angelova says the Hammer’s ocean story happened after she came out publicly against him.Instagram/houseofeffie
Angelova shows Hammer had little remorse for her trauma and affecting her family.Instagram/houseofeffie
Advertisement
Angelova writes she will share the screenshots of her and Hammer’s messages.Instagram/houseofeffie
Angelova shows the messages from Hammer the day following the rape.Instagram/houseofeffie
Angelova calls out Hammer’s friend, Ryan, who she calms threatened her.Instagram/houseofeffie
Advertisement

Angelova then suggested that Hammer told his suicide story in a desperate bid to “evoke sympathy” — claiming she heard the story before.

“It made me so worried about him, he made me feel bad for telling him his abuse messed me up and it made me want to take care of him instead,” she wrote to her 68,000 followers.

“He disappeared for a couple days which only made me more worried about him.”

Angelova said the actor now “claims his ocean story happened after I spoke out publicly.”

“It seems so manipulative because he knows his ocean story shut me up last time and evoked sympathy and it’s like now he’s trying it again,” she continued.

Hammer with his accuser Effie Angelova.
Hammer with his accuser Effie Angelova. BACKGRID

“I think on some level he feels guilty,” Angelova claimed, sharing a text of her allegedly telling Hammer years ago: ‘I cried again today thinking about what you told me. I wish I could give you a hug and make it better.”

Hammer, who has maintained that there was no wrongdoing on his behalf, told Air Mail last week “this alleged rape was a scene that was her idea,” claiming their relationship began after Effie sent him a Facebook message in October 2016.

“She planned all of the details out, all the way down to what Starbucks I would see her at, how I would follow her home, how her front door would be open and unlocked, and I would come in, and we would engage in what is called a ‘consensual non-consent scene,’ CNC.”

Hammer further alleged that the “scene” only happened once — and that it was Effie who introduced him to the practice.

Effie’s allegations first came to light in March 2022, when she stated publicly that Hammer became “increasingly more violent” with her and feared he was “going to kill” her.

Hammer, who shares two children — Harper, 8, and Ford, 6 — with ex Elizabeth Chambers, has since been the subject of an ongoing LAPD investigation.