Celebrity News

Amy Grant suffering from memory loss after 2022 bicycle accident

Amy Grant at a red carpet event.
Amy Grant revealed she is suffering from memory loss after her bicycle accident.Variety via Getty Images

Amy Grant is suffering from memory loss after her July 2022 bicycle accident, which resulted in a concussion and hospitalization.

“Honestly, I can’t remember what I don’t remember,” the Christian pop artist, 62, told E! News Saturday.

Grant then shared an anecdote about a recent dinner outing with an old friend from high school that showed her just how much she had forgotten.

“We used to spend the night at each other’s houses. I said, ‘I’m embarrassed to ask you, are you and your husband still together?'” the “Baby, Baby” singer said.

“She said that Douglas died seven years ago, and it was like I had just heard it for the first time!”

Amy Grant holding a microphone on a stage.
The Christian pop artist says she uses a teleprompter to help her remember her lyrics. Variety via Getty Images

Grant also revealed that she even struggles to remember the lyrics to her own songs.

“So far, right now, I use a teleprompter,” the six-time Grammy winner said while attending Live at the Music Center: Concert Celebrating Jerry Moss in Los Angeles. “There’s one tonight. I’m so glad. I used a teleprompter on the Christmas tour.”

Grant went back on tour in November 2022, just four months after the accident in Nashville.

Amy Grant sitting at a piano, smiling on a stage.
Grant was wearing a helmet at the time of the crash. Getty Images for 30A

The “Breath of Heaven” singer said that, looking back, she doesn’t remember much of the beginning of her healing process.

“My memory is still coming back, and the stamina. They say 12-18 months after an injury like that,” she explained.

Despite her uphill health battle, Grant remains optimistic and said she views the accident as a “blessing.”

“I saw someone at the airport, and they said, ‘Hey, it’s good to see you!'” the “Simple Things” singer shared. “I said, ‘Call me crazy. You’re going to have to tell me your name!’ It was someone I knew.”

She then joked, “Everyone would like this excuse! Everyone should do this. It makes life easier to just say the truth of what is.”