Celebrity News

Hoda Kotb reveals Al Roker’s ‘Today’ show return date after hospitalizations

Al Roker will make his triumphant return to “Today” later this week.

The morning show’s co-anchors Hoda Kotb, Savannah Guthrie and Craig Melvin made the announcement about the beloved weatherman, 68, during Tuesday’s broadcast.

“We have some great news to share this morning: Al is coming back to the show,” Guthrie, 51, told viewers.

Kotb, 58, then chimed in, “[People] was like, ‘When, when?’ Well, we have our day: He’ll be here Friday. He’ll be right here in Studio 1A.”

She continued, “This is his place. He’ll be in his seat, right where he belongs. We cannot wait for that.”

Al Roker will return to the “Today” show Friday. alroker/Instagram

Melvin, 43, noted the group would finally “be back together again,” while Guthrie said the long-running NBC series was not “the same without” Roker.

“Our sunshine is coming back Friday morning,” she added.

Roker has been absent from work since November 2022, when he was hospitalized for blood clots in his leg and lungs.

1 of 5
Hoda Kotb on "Today"
Hoda Kotb, Savannah Guthrie and Craig Melvin revealed the news.
Craig Melvin, Savannah Guthrie and Hoda Kotb on "Today"
Hoda Kotb, Savannah Guthrie and Craig Melvin revealed the news.NBC
Advertisement
Craig Melvin, Savannah Guthrie and Hoda Kotb on "Today"
Hoda Kotb, Savannah Guthrie and Craig Melvin revealed the news.NBC
Advertisement

“So many of you have been thoughtfully asking where I’ve been,” the TV icon captioned an Instagram post featuring flowers and an NBC News mug at the time.

“Last week I was admitted to the hospital with a blood clot in my leg which sent some clots into my lungs,” he continued. “After some medical whack-a-mole, I am so fortunate to be getting terrific medical care and on the way to recovery.”

Roker was even forced to miss the the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade in New York City for the first time in 27 years.

Roker was forced to miss the Thanksgiving parade for the first time in almost 30 years. Nathan Congleton/NBC via Getty I

He returned home just in time for Thanksgiving dinner but was rushed back to the hospital the next day.

After being released again at the beginning of December, Roker appeared on “Today” virtually.

“It’s been a tough slog, I’m not gonna deny this,” he told his co-anchors. “It’s been the hardest one yet, and you know I’ve had my share of surgeries.”

The weatherman has been at home with his family since early December. alroker/Instagram

Roker explained that he had a “certain amount of weakness” after losing muscle mass in the hospital.

“I’m doing physical therapy every day, occupational therapy. I’ve got to just get my strength back,” he continued. “I feel good. I feel strong. Every day I feel a little bit better.”