Celebrity News

Emily Ratajkowski is in her ‘bitch era’ amid divorce: ‘I don’t put up with s–t’

Emily Ratajkowski posing in a red dress.
Soon-to-be single Emily Ratajkowski identifies as a “bitch” these days.Getty Images

Emily Ratajkowski is in her “bitch era” amid her divorce from Sebastian Bear-McClard.

The model and mom to 1-year-old son Sylvester spilled about life as a soon-to-be single woman on the “Today” show Wednesday, explaining to hosts Hoda Kotb and Jenna Bush Hager that she no longer puts up with what she used to.

“It’s crazy. It’s so nice, honestly. I don’t owe anything to anybody — other than my son, that’s the only man,” Ratajkowski, 31, said.

The “My Body” author acknowledged that she’s spent the majority of her adult life as a serial monogamist, prompting Kotb and Bush Hager to ask how she identifies now.

1 of 3
Emily Ratajkowski on "Today."
The model discussed on “Today” how her life has changed since filing for divorce.Today
Emily Ratajkowski on "Today."
The model discussed on “Today” how her life has changed since filing for divorce.Today
Advertisement

“Can we curse on this show? I’ve been joking that I’m in my B era,” she replied, choosing to censor herself.

“I like that word because I feel like I’m reappropriating it. It has a negative connotation. But for me, it’s like, ‘No, no, it’s a good thing!'” she went on before letting an expletive slip. “I don’t put up with s–t.”

Emily Ratajkowski texting on her iPhone.
“I don’t put up with s–t,” she said. Christopher Peterson / SplashNew

When asked why she might’ve jumped from relationship to relationship in the past, Ratajkowski explained that it helped her “feel safe.”

“I think it was a way for me to protect myself,” she shared. “I was entering a really crazy industry and working in a really crazy industry where I think now we can accept that there are a lot of predatory, scary men.”

Emily Ratajkowski holding son Sylvester.
Ratajkowski’s 1-year-old son, Sylvester, is “the only man” in her life right now. emrata/Instagram

The “Blurred Lines” video vixen added that another contributing factor was her desire “to be loved” and receive “validation.”

“And it’s not bad,” she made sure to note. “But it’s really nice to be — I’m 31, and I have a little one, and I have this career — just kind of be doing my own thing.”

Ratajkowski also reluctantly admitted that she used to be a “pick-me girl,” a viral social media phrase that refers to a woman who seeks male validation by suggesting that she is “not like the other girls.”

1 of 3
A selfie of Emily Ratajkowski and Sebastian Bear-McClard in bed.
Ratajkowski filed for divorce from alleged “serial cheater” Sebastian Bear-McClard in September.emrata/Instagram
Emily Ratajkowski and Sebastian Bear-McClard sitting together at an event.
Ratajkowski filed for divorce from alleged “serial cheater” Sebastian Bear-McClard in September.Getty Images for Critics Choice
Advertisement

The Inamorata designer filed for divorce from Bear-McClard in September, nearly two months after Page Six broke the news that the two were separating after four years of marriage.

“Yeah, he cheated,” an insider claimed to us at the time. “He’s a serial cheater. It’s gross. He’s a dog.”

Ratajkowski and the actor-producer, 41, secretly tied the knot in a courthouse ceremony in February 2018 and welcomed Sylvester in March 2021.